GPT Image 2.5
ImagesGenerates from descriptions and changes details in existing images
Official OpenAI video for the release of ChatGPT Images 2.5, 8 September 2026.
API from $5
1M input text tokens · Standard
Context not specified
text and images as input
Not officially available from Russia
Russia is not on the list of supported countries
Weights not published
Local deployment not stated
Use it for illustrations, design variations, and reference-based edits. Do not use it as a replacement for precise compositing, layout work, or text proofreading.
GPT Image 2.5 is OpenAI's image model family. Flare prioritizes speed, Sunburst edit precision. Both generate from descriptions and accept existing images. The ChatGPT app offers user access under the name Images 2.5; in the API, developers select the specific variant.
Where GPT Image 2.5 sits on the AI market map
Nearby: Other models
1. Is it right for you
You can generate an image from a description and edit a photo. ChatGPT offers limited free access; you cannot download the model itself to your computer.
Availability checked on September 9, 2026. Free access applies to ChatGPT, not the API.
A fit if you are exploring ideas for a page, illustration, or ad image and are ready to choose and refine a result.
Not a fit if, after replacing one object, every other pixel must remain unchanged.
For a first look, open ChatGPT. To choose between the two options, go to the Flare and Sunburst comparison.
2. What images it produces
The capabilities are clearest on a task with a source image. Below are published OpenAI examples and one OneWave analysis. We compared the results; this profile contains no generations of our own with this model.
App mockup. With a single farmers market prompt, both models create a screen with products and photos. Flare has one large product block, while Sunburst has several cards. This can be passed to Astra as a visual reference for implementation.
From drawing to landscape. A river, mountains, and a tree move from a sketch into a realistic valley. The horizontal source image becomes vertical. The composition's meaning is preserved better than its exact proportions.
Source drawing
Flare
Sunburst
OpenAI demo, checked September 9. Editing, medium; source image 1536×1024, results 1024×1536.
Clothing from references. A jacket, top, and boots are attached to a photo of a woman. Her face, pose, and the museum remain recognizable. Notice the jeans: Flare lightens them, while Sunburst keeps a shade closer to the original.
Jacket reference
Top reference
Boot reference
Three references from the official OpenAI prompt.
Source photo
Flare
Sunburst
OpenAI demo, checked September 9, edit medium. The difference in the jeans is an observation from this pair, not an overall model ranking.
Furniture in a room. White chairs are replaced with wooden ones; the kitchen remains recognizable by its windows, light fixture, and refrigerator. But the framing and aspect ratio change. That is enough to align on the idea; precise photo compositing requires verification.
Source kitchen
Flare
Sunburst
OpenAI demo, checked September 9, edit medium. Source image 4:3, results 3:2.
Long brief. OneWave tested a scene with books, a mug, and specified lighting. The author gave both models credit for all eight requirements. This is a useful separate example of prompt following; the author did not publish a complete log of API calls.
3. How to try
The official user entry point is ChatGPT. Choosing Flare or Sunburst by name requires the OpenAI API. The ChatGPT profile covers the app's plans and capabilities.
Checked against OpenAI documentation on September 9, 2026.
API names: gpt-image-2.5-flare and gpt-image-2.5-sunburst. For a reproducible version, you can pin a snapshot ending in -2026-09-08. Organization verification may be required.
Start with one clear change: "replace the white chairs with wooden ones, keeping the rest of the room unchanged." State what may change and what must remain the same. Then compare the source image and result before requesting the next edit.
Russia is not on OpenAI's official list of supported countries. Access to ChatGPT and access to the API should be checked separately; a chat subscription does not pay for programmatic requests.
4. Where it sits among other models
In the first Arena tables, both models ranked above GPT Image 2. These are still preliminary results: the new models have noticeably fewer votes, and quality settings are not specified.
Arena, tables from September 8, checked September 9. Text-to-image and single-image edit are different disciplines; scores cannot be compared across columns. Both 2.5 models are marked Preliminary.
Elo reflects participant preferences in pairwise comparisons. In text-to-image generation, the Flare and Sunburst intervals overlap, so the top positions do not yet provide a confident answer about which is better for your prompt. A series of your own typical tasks is more useful than a single overall rank.
5. How much does an image cost
Flare and Sunburst have the same token rates. This is not a fixed image price: usage depends on input images, output size, and quality.
OpenAI Standard API, September 9, 2026. An image token is a billing unit, not one image.
Quality levels: low, medium, high, xhigh, max; auto lets the model choose the setting. For your budget, check usage on real prompts.
A third-party one-off measurement from September 8. This is not average speed or a promised price for your image.
OpenAI's claim that Flare is faster refers to a comparison with GPT Image 2. There is no universal time for every prompt. Costs work differently in ChatGPT: plan terms and app limits apply.
6. What to check in the result
When editing, you can get the desired change while quietly losing an important detail. Translating a coffee machine diagram shows why even a good-looking result still needs to be checked against the original.
Flare · original diagram
Flare · Spanish translation
OpenAI demo, checked September 9. Generation medium, translation high. The boiler number in the central diagram changed from 6 to 8.
The request concerned language, but Flare changed the part number. Such an error is more dangerous than an obvious typo: the diagram's overall look makes it seem that everything stayed in place.
Sunburst · original diagram
Sunburst · Spanish translation
Sunburst translates its own diagram, so its source differs from Flare's. We have not carried out a full technical and linguistic review of this demo.
Editorial checklist based on the examples reviewed.
For client source files, check storage terms. In the API, data is not used for training by default, but operational logs can generally be retained for up to 30 days. These terms do not apply to personal ChatGPT.
7. Flare or Sunburst
For a first illustration option, I would start with Flare. If preserving a character or details through successive edits matters more, I would test the same prompt in Sunburst.
Capabilities and pricing: OpenAI, September 9. The first-model choice is an editorial recommendation, not the result of our API benchmark.
Test both on the same source image, prompt, and quality setting. Measure the time to an accepted image, including corrections. Savings from a fast first attempt disappear if the result needs reworking several times.
To implement the drawn screen, you need a coding agent: for example, Codex with Astra. GPT Image handles the image, while the app connects it with the rest of the work.
8. Questions and answers
What is GPT Image 2.5 in simple terms?+
This is a family of OpenAI models that create images from descriptions and edit existing images. Two variants, Flare and Sunburst, were released in the API on 8 September 2026; the ChatGPT Images 2.5 update rolls out separately.
Can I generate images for free?+
ChatGPT offers free access to Images, subject to plan limits. The API is billed separately; a ChatGPT subscription does not cover API costs.
How do I choose Flare or Sunburst in ChatGPT?+
Selection of these names in the interface is unconfirmed. The exact variant is set via the API. Image reasoning mode cannot automatically be assumed to be Sunburst.
Does it write Russian in images?+
This overview has no verified example of Russian text. The Spanish translation shown does not establish the quality of Russian text. Names, numbers, and small labels should be proofread separately.
How do I prompt GPT Image 2.5?+
Describe the desired result, attach a source file or samples, and specify the details to preserve. For the first edit, one task is enough: replace the chairs while keeping the rest of the room. Then compare the result with the source.
Where is the official GPT Image 2.5 website?+
For creating images in chat, use ChatGPT. Documentation and programmatic access are available from OpenAI. Links to both official options are in the “How to try” section; a model name in a third-party website address does not make it official.
Can I download it and run it locally?+
GPT Image 2.5 open weights have not been published. The official ways to use it are OpenAI services and the API.
Sources
- OpenAI · Images 2.5 release (08.09.2026) — official release
- Flare · capabilities and pricing (checked 09.09.2026) — documentation
- Sunburst · capabilities and pricing (checked 09.09.2026) — documentation
- OpenAI · prompt examples (checked 09.09.2026) — manufacturer demo
- Images API · settings and limitations (checked 09.09.2026) — documentation
- ChatGPT Images · availability (checked 09.09.2026) — help
- Arena · text-to-image (08.09.2026) — independent ranking
- Arena · single-image editing (08.09.2026) — independent ranking
- OneWave · long brief (08.09.2026) — practices
- OpenAI · API data (checked 09.09.2026) — documentation
- OpenAI · supported countries (checked 09.09.2026) — documentation
What we wrote about GPT Image 2.5
Useful reading before you start
- ChatGPT: where to create images without code
- GPT-6 Astra: how to turn a mockup into a working website
- Other models on the AI map
- News about the Flare and Sunburst release

