Leonardo
A showcase of top image models, with 150 free tokens per day.
Sign in $0
150 free tokens per day; Essential from $12 per month
Any model + your own
Its own Lucid and Phoenix plus two dozen third-party models
Closed source
No source code; API is separate, payments are in dollars
Take it if you want to try Nano Banana, GPT Image, and Kling without a subscription to each one: 150 tokens a day are free.
Leonardo is a website that creates images and short videos from descriptions. You type a phrase in English, pick a model from a list where Leonardo's own models sit next to outside ones like Google's Nano Banana, and a few seconds later you get an image. It was started in Sydney in 2022, and since the summer of 2024 it has been a brand of Canva, the builder for presentations and posts. Every day it gives out 150 free tokens, roughly a dozen images, and a subscription costs from $12 a month. This card answers what a free day gives you, how much the subscription costs and how Leonardo differs from Midjourney.
Where Leonardo sits on the big AI map
Nearby: Midjourney·Recraft·+ another 1
1. Should you get it
The free day here is a real one, so the decision comes down to how many images you need a day and on whose models.
What people want from Leonardo
Who it is for. For those who want to browse other companies’ top image models in one place without subscribing to each one: Google’s Nano Banana, OpenAI’s GPT Image, and Kling for video are listed alongside its own Lucid and Phoenix. For designers and game creators who need their own style: Leonardo trains a model on 10–50 of your images.
Who else. For those who want to try it without a card and are not in a hurry: 150 tokens arrive every day, which is around a dozen images on its own models, adding up to more than three hundred per month.
Who it is not for. People who want privacy for free: on the free plan, all images are public, owned by the vendor, and cannot be deleted.
Suitable: section 3 takes you from sign-in to your first image. Midjourney
2. What Leonardo can do
Three doors: its own models, other companies’ top models, and video. All three use the same currency, tokens, and the price appears on the button before every generation.
Models. It has four of its own: Lucid Origin and Lucid Realism for images, Phoenix in two versions, and Motion 2.0 for video. Its API documentation listed around forty external models from a dozen companies as of 09/07/2026, including Google’s Nano Banana, OpenAI’s GPT Image, and Kling; the full list is in the FAQ. Only external models appear in the recommended block on the app’s first screen, and the vendor itself describes Leonardo as a place where “the world’s best models are brought together in one system.”
Editing. Edit an image with words in the editor: describe the change, and the model redraws what is needed. The old canvas with masks and a brush remains, but the vendor itself calls it the previous generation. Pro Upscaler raises an image to 105 megapixels, the background is removed with a button, and a 3D model can be made from an image using external Rodin V2 from 400 tokens.
Video. There is one in-house video model, Motion 2.0, which animates a finished image by default. External Kling 3.0, Veo 3.1, and Seedance make videos with sound from 3 to 15 seconds long; its own Motion 2.0 goes up to 720p, Veo 3.1 up to 4K. Only paid users can upload their own image for video, while free videos have a watermark.
Your own style. The model learns from your images: from 10 to 50 files, preferably square at 1024 pixels, creating an add-on over Flux Dev. Essential includes ten such models per month. This is Leonardo’s main move for games and brands: set a style once, then create in it.
What the vendor itself shows. The loop above the card comes from a video on the character generator page, published 05/12/2026: a home screen with a prompt bar and several modes, a shelf of ready-made Blueprints scenarios, image selection, and a scene wizard with several characters; at the end, a “Generate 240” button priced in tokens and an “Edit in Canva” menu. We did not run Leonardo ourselves for this task.
3. Where it works and how to start
Nothing to install: the website and two apps from the vendor.
Step 1. Open app.leonardo.ai and sign in with Canva, Google, Apple, Microsoft or email, that is how the sign-in screen looks on 07.09.2026.
Step 2. The first 150 tokens arrive immediately and refresh every 24 hours. Write an English prompt in the bar at the top, choose a model, and the token price is on the button. Everything you create for free is visible to everyone in the feed, quality is basic only, and you cannot delete an image without a subscription.
Step 3. A subscription from $12 a month is set up through Stripe or PayPal.
Apps. On the App Store the app is published by the vendor itself: 4.87 from 1,186 ratings, updated on 26.08.2026. On Google Play it has more than 10 million installs.
Steps verified on Sep 7, 2026 against the sign-in screen in a live browser, the vendor's help center and the store listings
4. What the tests show
In image arenas, Leonardo sits in the second half of the list, and its best model there is a year old.
Arenas. In Artificial Analysis as of Sep 7, 2026, Leonardo's best model, Lucid Origin Ultra, ranks 79th out of 157 with a score of 923; leader GPT Image 2 from OpenAI has 1,178. In LMArena, the same Lucid Origin ranks 68th out of 76 with a score of 1,013 from 285 thousand votes. There are no Leonardo models newer than August 2025 in the arenas, while the leaders of those arenas are available inside Leonardo itself as third-party models.
What is known about the scale
What this means. The vendor does not disclose absolute numbers for 2026, only percentage growth. Of a16z's list of the top 100 consumer AI products from Mar 9, 2026, only three standalone image generators remain: Leonardo, Ideogram, and CivitAI. The list's authors explain this by saying they serve specific creative communities rather than compete in general generation. Leonardo's place among image tools is shown below the card title, while the full tool ranking is on the general page.
5. How much it costs
The free 150 tokens per day are real, but a subscription from $12 buys tokens, not images, and they expire.
Tokens. There is no single rate: the price depends on the model, size, and quality, and is shown on the button before generation. The vendor's only published table prices an image at 1 token, but it covers 2024 models; in the vendor's own footage, an image on GPT Image 2 costs 6.97 tokens, while an upscale to 33 megapixels costs 573. 2026 hands-on tests put its own models at 8-10 tokens per image, so a free day gives about a dozen images, not 150.
Three plans. Essential for $12 gives 8,500 tokens per month, or 850 to 1,000 images; when they run out, the account drops to the free 150 per day. Premium for $30 gives 25,000 and, after zero, enables an unmetered slow queue, but only on Leonardo's own models. Ultimate for $60 gives 60,000 and the same queue for video too. Third-party models are almost entirely excluded from the unmetered queue: the help lists 16 names and the pricing page lists 17, while a footnote on that page allows three third-party models into the queue: Hailuo 2.3, Hailuo 2.3 Fast, and Wan 2.6. The annual price has not changed.
Annual billing and token bank. Paying annually lowers the monthly price to $10, $24, and $48. For paid users, unused tokens accumulate in a bank up to three monthly allowances; free users have no bank, and canceling a subscription burns the entire bank, which reviews complain about. Token packs can be purchased only with an active subscription; in the App Store, a 5,500-token pack costs $13, making top-ups one and a half to three times more expensive per token than subscription tokens.
Mobile markup. Through the iPhone app the same plans cost $15.99, $39.99 and $79.99, a third more than on the site. Subscribing on the site is cheaper.
The vendor accepts cards through Stripe and PayPal. The service terms prohibit resale and simultaneous login under one account. .
Through Canva. The Essential plan is marked "included with Canva Business" on the pricing page: anyone who already has this Canva subscription gets Leonardo's entry-level plan with it.
Leonardo plans and what they include
Prices verified on Sep 7, 2026 against the vendor's pricing page (snapshot Aug 9, 2026, the grid unchanged since Apr 15, 2026) and the App Store listings · the live page is behind an anti-bot and was not captured · the annual $120, $288 and $576 are our own recalculation of the monthly price under annual billing times twelve
What we checked and how
| Fact | What we know | Verified |
|---|---|---|
| Essential $12, Premium $30, Ultimate $60 per month; annual billing $10, $24, $48 per month | Data from leonardo.ai/pricing (Wayback snapshot Aug 9, 2026): "\"title\":\"Essential\",\"pay_monthly_price\":12,\"pay_yearly_price\":10", "\"Premium\",\"pay_monthly_price\":30,\"pay_yearly_price\":24", "\"Ultimate\",\"pay_monthly_price\":60,\"pay_yearly_price\":48"; cards say "/month ex. tax.", FAQ says "Tax, if applicable, will be added at the point of payment with Stripe"; the "Pay Monthly" tab is active by default | Sep 7, 2026 |
| Free: 150 tokens per day, resets every 24 hours, do not accumulate; paid: 8,500, 25,000, 60,000 per month | "Token Usage" help, edited Aug 25, 2026: "Free users have a daily allowance of 150 Tokens. If you are on the free tier, your Token allowance is reset every 24 hours"; "Tokens FAQ", edited Aug 13, 2026: "Tokens do not accumulate if they are unused", "Paid user with no rollover bank balance and no top up tokens will get a free daily reset to 150 tokens"; storefront cards: "8,500 / month", "25,000 / month", "60,000 / month" | Sep 7, 2026 |
| The vendor does not publish a "tokens per image" rate; footage shows 6.97 tokens per GPT Image 2 image and 573 for an upscale | Storefront FAQ: "a single token doesn’t correspond to a specific image size or a specific action"; "Tokens FAQ": "Before generating, you will see how many Tokens an action costs, generally on the button itself"; official vendor video footage: "6.97" under generation tiles with GPT Image 2 and Low quality, "Upscale 573" button at 7680×4320 output; eesel.ai, Jun 5, 2026: 150 tokens ≈ "10-15 images on first-party models", Veo 3 video ≈ "300+ basic image generations" (legacy image rate of 1 token; about 40 according to the vendor configuration) | Sep 7, 2026 |
| The unmetered queue is available only on Premium and Ultimate: on first-party models, and on Ultimate also on three third-party video models | Storefront FAQ: "All first-party image models can be used with Relaxed Generation. Third-party models; GPT-Image-1, Flux.1 Kontext, Ideogram, Nano Banana, Flux Kontext Max, Veo 3, Kling 2.5 Turbo, Kling 2.1 Pro, Sora 2, Sora 2 Pro, LTX-2 Pro, LTX-2 Fast, Veo 3.1, Veo 3.1 Fast, Seedream 4.0, Seedream 4.5, and Nano Banana Pro, are not eligible"; "Tokens FAQ": "relaxed rate generation is only activated automatically if/when you run out of Tokens on an Premium or Ultimate plan" | Sep 7, 2026 |
| Plans were renamed between 18.02 and Feb 25, 2026 without a price change; prices have not changed since August 2025 | Wayback snapshot Feb 18, 2026: "Apprentice | $12 | $10", "Artisan Unlimited | $30 | $24", "Maestro Unlimited | $60 | $48"; snapshot Feb 25, 2026: the same figures under the names Essential, Premium, Ultimate; snapshots from Aug 27, 2025, Sep 12, 2025, Nov 5, 2025, and Jan 3, 2026 show the same prices and token allowances | Sep 7, 2026 |
| Token bank up to three monthly allowances; canceling a subscription burns the bank | Help article “Token Rollover,” updated Jul 28, 2026: “The Rollover Bank accumulates up to 3 months worth of tokens,” “If you cancel your Premium plan, any unused tokens in your Rollover bank will be cancelled”; “Top-up Tokens,” updated Aug 25, 2026: “Top-up Tokens require an active subscription to be used” | Sep 7, 2026 |
| iPhone: $15.99, $39.99, $79.99; 5,500-token pack $13 | In-app purchase block of the US App Store listing: "Essential $15.99", "Premium $39.99", "Ultimate $79.99", "5,500 Top-up Tokens $13.00", "35,000 Top-up Tokens $65.00", "165,000 Top-up Tokens $259.00" | Sep 7, 2026 |
| Card payment through Stripe and PayPal | Help article "How do I subscribe", rev. Aug 25, 2026: "directing you to pay via PayPal, or Card (which will direct you to the Stripe billing page)" | Sep 7, 2026 |
6. Can Leonardo be trusted
The main question here is not lawsuits, of which there are none, but the free plan: images made on it belong to the vendor.
Whose images. On paid plans, they are yours: the terms transfer all rights to you at the moment of creation. On the free plan, rights arise with Leonardo, while you receive a perpetual license, including for commercial use. Free images are public, other users can remix them, and you cannot delete them without a subscription.
Who owns what at each tier
Data and training. Data is stored in the US, Australia, and any other country at the vendor’s choice; the data operator is Sydney-based Leonardo Interactive, identified in the privacy policy as a Canva brand. The company has never directly said what Phoenix and Lucid Origin were trained on: in 2023, it spoke of synthetic data and Creative Commons; in 2024, of “licensed, synthetic and publicly available data”; in 2025, of careful dataset selection. No copyright lawsuits against Leonardo were found as of 07.09.2026.
Filters. In April 2024, a 404 Media journalist used Reddit prompt suggestions to generate intimate images of celebrities without their consent through Leonardo; the vendor closed the loophole within two weeks and published a safety statement on 06.05.2024. Since then, filters for free users have been stricter than for paid users, according to the vendor’s help article.
Who owns it. Canva since Jul 30, 2024: the deal amount was not disclosed, while the press estimated it at more than 300 million without naming the currency. The company then promised “the same plans and independent platform,” and prices have remained in place since at least August 2025. In March 2026, Canva accelerated integration and distributed the 150-person team across its AI departments, retaining a small group for Leonardo, while denying layoffs; the apps have been updated since then, most recently on 26.08.2026. The service has no public status page, and it does not respond.
What we checked and how
| Fact | What we know | Verified |
|---|---|---|
| Free tier: image rights belong to the vendor; paid plans: yours | Terms of Use, updated Jan 19, 2026, section 8.7: “If you are on one of our free Subscriptions (Free Subscriber)… ownership of all Intellectual Property Rights in any Output… will vest in us upon creation”; section 8.3: “If you are on one of our paid Subscriptions… ownership… will vest in you upon creation”; storefront FAQ: “Free tier users: Leonardo.Ai holds rights to use, reproduce, modify, and distribute any images you create. However, you’re granted a non-exclusive, royalty-free licence to access your creations for commercial use” | Sep 7, 2026 |
| Training on public content is allowed, on private content is prohibited; privacy is paid-only | Terms of Use, section 8.6: license for Public Content “including training AI models, developing new offerings, or for any commercial purpose”; section 8.5: “We will not use, retain, analyse, or process your Private Content for any other purpose, including training AI models… without your express written consent”; help article “Private & Public Images”: “Private image generation is exclusive to paid members” | Sep 7, 2026 |
| You cannot delete an image without a subscription | FAQ help article, updated Feb 16, 2026: “How to delete my generated images? Deleting images requires a paid subscription” | Sep 7, 2026 |
| Data in the US, Australia, and other countries; operator: Leonardo Interactive, “a Canva brand” | Privacy Policy, updated Jan 19, 2026: “We are Leonardo Interactive Pty Ltd T/A Leonardo.Ai, a Canva brand”; “Your information will be stored in the United States and processed in Australia” (the vendor’s country list is open-ended: any other country as well); terms, section 15.3: “governed by the laws of New South Wales” | Sep 7, 2026 |
| The company does not directly disclose its models’ training data | TechCrunch, Dec 6, 2023: “trained using synthetic data and data from Creative Commons/open source data”; TechCrunch, Jul 29, 2024: “Leonardo.ai’s PR kept it vague… saying only that the models are trained on “licensed, synthetic and publicly available/open source data””; Lucid Origin post, Aug 5, 2025: “a highly curatorial approach to dataset selection” | Sep 7, 2026 |
| April 2024: filter bypass using Reddit prompt suggestions; closed within two weeks, statement on May 6, 2024 | Startup Daily, Apr 10, 2024: “Journalist Emanuel Maiberg at US tech news website 404 Media reported that they had used prompt suggestions for Leonardo found on Reddit “and was able to produce nonconsensual sexual images of celebrities instantly””, “It’s believed to have been patched in the fortnight”; vendor post from May 6, 2024: “Our Terms of Service explicitly prohibit use of our platform to generate content that includes acts that involve non-consent content”; FAQ help article: “Free users are subject to stricter filtering” | Sep 7, 2026 |
| Canva since Jul 30, 2024; in March 2026, its 150-person team was distributed across Canva departments | Leonardo post Jul 30, 2024: “you’ll still find all our tools on the Leonardo.Ai platform, with the same plans and pricing as always”; TechCrunch Jul 29, 2024: “All of Leonardo.ai’s 120 employees will be joining Canva”; Startup Daily Mar 2, 2026: “Leonardo’s 150 North Sydney-based staff,” “a small team continuing to work on Leonardo as a standalone product while others join the mother ship”; status page status.leonardo.ai: the page did not respond in our check on Sep 7, 2026 | Sep 7, 2026 |
7. Leonardo or Midjourney
The fork is not about who draws more beautifully, but what you are buying: one model with its own taste or a storefront of other models with a free tier.
Different checkout. Leonardo gives 150 tokens free every day, with subscriptions from $12. Midjourney has offered no free trial since Mar 28, 2023, starts at $10 a month, and sells GPU minutes rather than tokens.
Different models. Midjourney has one proprietary model, V8.2, and prohibits any third-party API. Leonardo has four proprietary models and nearly forty external ones, including arena leaders. Yet Leonardo’s proprietary model ranks 79th out of 157 in the arenas, while Midjourney does not submit its new model there at all, so their quality cannot be compared numerically.
Who else is nearby. Among its international catalog neighbors, Recraft, Ideogram and Krea.
What to choose for the task
Comparison - snapshot from Sep 7, 2026: Leonardo storefront and help data, arenas; Midjourney facts from its Sep 6, 2026 snapshot
8. History
Over four years, the Sydney game-asset generator gained its own model, became a Canva brand, and turned into a storefront for other models.
Sep 6
Leonardo Interactive registered in Sydney; the platform itself opens in December 2022, initially for game assets.
Jul 30
Canva announces the acquisition of Leonardo: 120 people move to Canva, the company promises «the same pricing and an independent platform».
Aug 5
Lucid Origin, a Full HD model; a year later it remains Leonardo's best model in image arenas.
Feb 19
«Yours to Create» rebrand and an API for developers; on the same days, between February 18 and 25, plans renamed Essential, Premium, and Ultimate without a price change.
Mar 2
Canva accelerates integration: the 150-person team disperses across its AI divisions, with a small group remaining on Leonardo.
Jul 9
From April to July, six models removed from the lineup, including Sora 2, Veo 3, and in-house Motion 1.0; video remains on Motion 2.0 and third-party models.
9. Frequently asked questions
What is Leonardo AI in simple terms?+
A website and app where you create an image or short video from a description: write a phrase in English, choose a model, and get the result. What sets it apart is that alongside Leonardo's own models, it offers third-party ones: Nano Banana from Google, GPT Image from OpenAI, Kling, and Seedream. It was made by a Sydney company, launched in December 2022, and has belonged to Canva since 30.07.2024.
Is Leonardo AI free?+
Partly. You get 150 free tokens every day; they expire after 24 hours and do not accumulate. On Leonardo's own models, that is enough for roughly ten images. Everything you create for free is visible to everyone in the feed, quality is basic only, videos have a watermark, and you cannot delete an image without a subscription. The vendor does not offer a separate free trial of paid plans (help center, Sep 7, 2026).
How much is a Leonardo subscription?+
Three plans: Essential $12, Premium $30 and Ultimate $60 a month, or $10, $24 and $48 a month when you pay for a year. Tax is added on top, payment goes through Stripe or PayPal. In the iPhone app the same plans cost a third more, $15.99, $39.99 and $79.99. Prices verified on Sep 7, 2026 against the pricing page and the store listings.
Where can you download the Leonardo app?+
On the App Store and on Google Play the app is published by the vendor itself, Leonardo Interactive; version 2.0.38 shipped on 26.08.2026.
Which models are inside Leonardo, and which are its own?+
It has four of its own: Lucid Origin and Lucid Realism for images, two versions of Phoenix, and Motion 2.0 for video. As of Sep 7, 2026, the API documentation lists nearly forty third-party models from a dozen companies: Nano Banana and Veo from Google, GPT Image from OpenAI, FLUX, Kling, Seedream and Seedance, Hailuo, Wan, Ideogram, Grok Imagine, Krea. Unlimited use after tokens run out works on Leonardo's own models and three third-party ones: Hailuo 2.3, Hailuo 2.3 Fast, and Wan 2.6.
What are tokens, and how much does one image cost?+
A token is the only currency here: you use it to pay for an image, video, upscale, and background removal. There is no single exchange rate; the price appears on the button before generation and depends on the model, size, and quality. The vendor's own screenshots show that Flow State costs 1 token per image, a low-quality GPT Image 2 image costs 6.97 tokens, and an upscale to 33 megapixels costs 573 tokens. Practitioners in 2026 estimate that Leonardo's own models cost 8–10 tokens per image.
Can you sell images from Leonardo?+
Yes, on any plan, but under different terms. On paid plans, the image belongs to you, as the vendor states directly. On the free plan, rights to the image arise for Leonardo, while you receive a perpetual license, including for commercial use; however, the image is public, other users can remix it, and you cannot delete it without a subscription (service terms dated Jan 19, 2026).
Does Leonardo train on my images?+
On public ones, yes: the service terms dated Jan 19, 2026 explicitly allow model training on public content and any commercial transformation of it. Not on private ones without written consent. Private mode is available only on paid plans, so you cannot opt out of training for free.
Does Leonardo create videos?+
Yes. It has one in-house model, Motion 2.0, which by default animates a finished image. Third-party Kling 3.0, Veo 3.1, and Seedance create videos with sound from 3 to 15 seconds long; its own Motion 2.0 goes up to 720p, Veo 3.1 up to 4K. Only paid users can upload their own image for video; free users get a watermark on videos, and video on third-party models always consumes tokens: one 8-second Veo 3 video costs 312 tokens, equal to 40 images on Leonardo's own model at the vendor's rate.
Leonardo or Midjourney?+
Midjourney sells one in-house model with no free entry, from $10 per month, and does not submit it to arenas. Leonardo gives 150 free tokens per day and a showcase of third-party models, including arena leaders, but its own model ranks 79th out of 157 in the Artificial Analysis arena (Sep 7, 2026). Choose Leonardo to try different models and train your own style; choose Midjourney for its image output.
Whose service is this, Canva?+
Yes, since Jul 30, 2024: Canva bought Leonardo outright, all 120 employees moved over, and the company promised "the same plans and an independent platform". Leonardo Interactive's Sydney legal entity remained separate; its privacy policy identifies it as a Canva brand, and signing in with a Canva account is the first button on the login screen. In March 2026, Canva accelerated integration and distributed the team across its AI departments, leaving a small group over Leonardo, while denying layoffs; the apps were nevertheless updated on 26.08.2026.
Sources
- leonardo.ai — homepage: "The Creator-First Generative AI Platform" (snapshot Sep 1, 2026) — official website
- leonardo.ai/pricing — Free, Essential, Premium, Ultimate plans; page data (snapshots 09.08 and Aug 25, 2026) — official website
- leonardo.ai/pricing — snapshots Feb 18, 2026 (Apprentice, Artisan, Maestro) and Feb 25, 2026 (Essential, Premium, Ultimate), Wayback — official website
- leonardo.ai/models — "Leonardo brings the world’s leading generative AI models into one creative system" (snapshot May 5, 2026) — official website
- leonardo.ai/careers — "In 2024 we became part of the Canva family but we continue to run as an independent platform" (snapshot Aug 12, 2026) — official website
- app.leonardo.ai — login screen: Canva, Apple, Google, Microsoft, email (live browser, Sep 7, 2026) — official website
- Leonardo.Ai Terms of Use, version dated Jan 19, 2026 — sections 8.3–8.7 on image rights — official documentation
- Leonardo.Ai Privacy Policy, version dated Jan 19, 2026 — "a Canva brand", data in the US — official documentation
- API docs: Deprecations & Changes — removal of Motion 1.0, Veo 3, Sora 2 (version dated Jul 9, 2026) — official documentation
- API docs: Getting Started — model list and "API access is separate from free or web app subscriptions" (Sep 7, 2026) — official documentation
- API docs: Pricing & Plans FAQs — API transition to usage-based payments in dollars (version dated Sep 1, 2026) — official documentation
- Leonardo.Ai help center: Token Usage — 150 tokens per day, reset every 24 hours (version dated Aug 25, 2026) — official documentation
- Leonardo.Ai help center: Tokens FAQ — price on the button, paid plans without tokens drop to 150 per day (version dated Aug 13, 2026) — official documentation
- Leonardo.Ai Help: Token Rollover — bank up to three monthly allowances, cancellation burns the bank (ed. 07/28/2026) — official documentation
- Leonardo.Ai Help: Commercial Usage — tier-based rights with examples (ed. 08/25/2026) — official documentation
- Leonardo.Ai Help: Private & Public Images — privacy only for paid users (ed. 08/25/2026) — official documentation
- Leonardo.Ai Help: FAQ — English only, no PayPal error, image deletion only with a subscription (ed. 02/16/2026) — official documentation
- Leonardo.Ai Help: how to subscribe — payment via PayPal or card through Stripe (ed. 08/25/2026) — official documentation
- Leonardo.Ai Help: Generating video — watermark for free users, image upload only for paid users (ed. 02/18/2026) — official documentation
- Leonardo.Ai Help: Elements — train your own model on 10–50 images on top of Flux Dev (ed. 02/19/2026) — official documentation
- Leonardo.Ai Help: Pro Upscaler — up to 105 megapixels (ed. 08/25/2026) — official documentation
- Leonardo.Ai Help: 3D Generation — Rodin V2, from 400 tokens (August 2026) — official documentation
- Leonardo.Ai Help: Edit in Canva — button in the editor, Canva account required (09/07/2026) — official documentation
- Leonardo.Ai post “Supercharging Leonardo.Ai’s Innovation with Canva” — “the same plans and pricing as always” (07/30/2024) — official release
- Canva press release on acquiring Leonardo.AI — 19 million users, 1 billion images, 120 employees (07/30/2024) — official release
- Leonardo.Ai press release on the “Yours to Create” rebrand and API — “50%+ YoY growth in its user base” (02/19/2026) — official release
- Leonardo.Ai post about the Lucid Origin model (08/05/2025) — official release
- Leonardo.Ai tweet announcing Phoenix (06/12/2024) — official release
- Leonardo.Ai post “Our Commitment to AI Safety and Creative Empowerment” (05/06/2024) — official release
- ABN Lookup — Leonardo Interactive Pty Ltd, ABN active since 09/06/2022 — registry
- App Store - Leonardo.Ai, publisher Leonardo Interactive Pty Ltd; in-app purchases (Sep 7, 2026) — official website
- Google Play — Leonardo.Ai: 10 million+ installs, 4.7 from 104 thousand reviews by histogram, 108 thousand badge (09/07/2026) — official website
- TechCrunch — Leonardo.Ai raises $31M (Dec 6, 2023) — press
- TechCrunch — Canva acquires Leonardo.ai: 120 employees, training data “licensed, synthetic and publicly available/open source data” (07/29/2024) — press
- Capital Brief — before Phoenix, the platform ran on a fine-tuned Stable Diffusion (06/18/2024) — press
- Forbes Australia — 29 million registered users (01/14/2025) — press
- Startup Daily — Canva accelerates Leonardo integration, team of 150 people (03/02/2026) — press
- Startup Daily — celebrity deepfakes through Leonardo in a 404 Media investigation (04/10/2024) — press
- a16z — Top 100 Gen AI Consumer Apps, 6th edition: among image generators, Leonardo, Ideogram, and CivitAI remained (03/09/2026) — press
- Artificial Analysis — image arena: Lucid Origin Ultra ranked 79th out of 157 (09/07/2026) — practices
- LMArena — image arena: lucid-origin ranked 68th out of 76 (09/07/2026) — practices
- eesel.ai — pricing breakdown: 150 tokens ≈ 10–15 images on its own models, Veo 3 video ≈ 300 images versus a legacy image for 1 token (06/05/2026) — practices
- Skillbox Media — Leonardo AI: how to use it for free, “prompt in English” (updated 07/14/2026) — practices
Useful reading before you start
- What is vibecoding: starting from scratch.
- Midjourney: a paid generator chosen for its images.
- The full AI tools ranking.

