Updated Sep 6, 2026
n8n
Builds AI agents as nodes on a canvas and runs free on your own server.
Admission 0 €
Self-hosting with no execution limit; cloud from 24 € per month
Any model
OpenAI, Anthropic, Google, DeepSeek, Ollama, your own key
Open source
Sustainable Use license: you can install and modify it, but cannot sell access
Take it if you're ready to install it on your own server: it's free there and doesn't count runs.
n8n is an automation builder where you draw a scenario as nodes on a canvas, then it runs on its own. You connect a "message arrived in Telegram" node to an "ask an AI" node and a "write to a spreadsheet" node, switch it on, and the chain runs on without you. The catalog holds more than two thousand such nodes, and where a node is missing you drop in your own JavaScript or Python code. The main difference from Zapier and Make is that n8n can be downloaded and installed on your own server for free, with the code open to read. It was built by the Berlin company n8n, and the name is pronounced "n-eight-n". This card answers what it can do, how much the cloud costs and how it differs from Make.
Where n8n sits on the big AI map
1. Should you get it
You need to consider two things: whether you have a server or someone who can set one up, and whether you are ready to work in an English interface.
What people come to n8n for and what they get: six common questions where the answer is not obvious.
What people want from n8n
Who it is for. For those who already have a repetitive task: put website leads into a CRM, send a summary to Telegram every morning, reply to customer emails with a neural network. And for those who want to build an AI agent without glue code: an AI Agent node, plus a model, memory, and tools, all connected on the canvas in an evening.
Who else. Anyone who keeps data on their own machines. A self-hosted install is free, does not count executions and never calls a license server.
Who it is not for. Anyone waiting for a "press a button and you're done" tool. The interface is English, the first hour goes on Docker and a domain for webhooks, and for ease of use n8n scores 4.0 out of 5 on Capterra against an overall 4.6.
Good fit: section 3 takes you from a server to your first workflow. If you're choosing between n8n and Make, see the choice in section 7.
2. What n8n can do
Three layers: ready-made nodes, your own code inside a node, and an AI agent that decides for itself which nodes to call.
Nodes. As of Sep 6, 2026 the catalog shows 2,147 nodes: Telegram, Google Sheets, Gmail, Slack, Airtable and an HTTP request to any API. The number of integrations differs from one vendor page to another, from "400+" in the repository description to "1500+" in the README, so counting by the catalog is more reliable.
Code. You can write JavaScript or Python in the Code node. npm packages can be added to a self-hosted installation; external libraries are unavailable in the cloud, and Python in the cloud cannot import anything at all. The catalog has 12,125 ready-made workflow templates written by the community.
AI agent. The AI Agent node has four connectors: model, memory, tools, and response parsing. You can connect any model, from OpenAI and Anthropic to DeepSeek and local models through Ollama, while the Model Selector node can distribute requests across four models from different vendors. The agent can access external MCP servers, and the workflow itself can be exposed as an MCP server; since Aug 10, 2026, you can connect to 70 MCP servers from the node panel via OAuth.
Build with words. AI Workflow Builder creates a workflow from a description such as «every morning at eight, collect AI news, summarize the five biggest stories, and send them to Telegram», and a chain of a dozen nodes appears on the canvas. Every edit through the builder costs one credit from the cloud plan's monthly allowance; a self-hosted installation needs your own model key.
What the vendor itself shows. The video in the header comes from the n8n.io homepage: on a dark canvas, Schedule Trigger, Find Comments, HTML Extract, Edit Fields, and Code nodes appear one after another and connect with green links. We did not run n8n for a specific task ourselves; the figures come from documentation, pricing pages, the GitHub API, and third-party tests.
3. Where it works and how to install
Install it on your own server through Docker: the npm install stops being supported in version 3.0 in October 2026.
Step 1. Take a server with Docker and at least 1 GB of memory: n8n itself eats 190 MB, and the vendor's entry cloud plan lives on 335 MB.
Step 2. One command from the vendor website will start the container itself:
curl -fsSL https://get.n8n.io | shDocker required
Or use the image directly; the editor will open on port 5678:
docker run -it --rm --name n8n -p 5678:5678 -v n8n_data:/home/node/.n8n docker.n8n.io/n8nio/n8nOpen localhost:5678 or the server address, then create the owner account by email. A free license key sent to the same email adds folders and debugging to the editor.
Step 3. For a Telegram bot and any webhooks, n8n must be accessible from the internet: you need a domain and an HTTPS certificate. For local testing, a cloudflared tunnel is enough; the vendor provides it for testing only and explicitly does not recommend it for production.
Practitioners take DeepSeek or OpenRouter, both with built-in nodes, or a local model through Ollama, and then no keys and no payment are needed at all.
Cloud. Cloud data sits in the EU on Microsoft Azure.
Steps verified on Sep 6, 2026 using the repository README, n8n documentation, Timeweb Cloud, Beget, and Amvera pricing pages, and a check-host test with control nodes
4. What the tests show
Automation builders have no arenas or benchmarks, so the measurements here are about scale and demand, not quality.
Code and community. 203,515 stars and 60,579 forks on GitHub (API, Sep 6, 2026); the vendor places the repository among GitHub's top fifty. The forum has 175,080 registered users and 6,704 active users per month according to the forum API, while the homepage rounds the community to «200 thousand». .
Company funding. On May 12, 2026, SAP took an equity stake at a $5.2 billion valuation, twice the October valuation; the company has raised $240 million in total. In the same press release, n8n reports 1,400 enterprise customers and 1.7 million active builders per month; a year earlier it counted «3,000 enterprises», so the metric changed, and the company does not disclose revenue.
What is known about the scale
Demand. The place among automation tools is shown under the card title, and the full tool ranking lives on a shared page.
5. How much it costs
A self-hosted installation costs 0 € and does not count executions, while the cloud sells executions in bundles: Starter is 24 € per month for 2,500, although the pricing page shows the annual price of 20 € by default.
Plan currency. A run in n8n counts for the entire workflow, “no matter how many steps and data it contains,” as the vendor explains on the pricing page. In Make and Zapier, the counter ticks for every operation, so one request to a Telegram bot with an AI model inside costs one run in n8n, but five or six operations with its competitors. The vendor itself calculates on the pricing page: a workflow on a five-minute schedule consumes 8,600–8 900 runs per month, chat-bot runs should be counted by number of messages, conversations multiplied by the average number of messages per conversation, and according to the documentation, manual editor runs and nested sub-workflows do not count toward the quota.
Self-hosting. The Community edition is free, needs no key and counts neither users nor executions. It has no single corporate sign-on (SSO), no projects, environments, Git, external secrets or shared access to workflows: someone else's workflow is visible only to its author and the owner. A free key sent by email adds folders, debugging and execution tags. The Business plan at €800 a month is sold for self-hosted installs too, and its key calls the vendor's license server once a day.
Cloud. Free provides 50 runs per month, Starter 24 € for 2,500, Pro 60 € for 10,000, Business 800 € for 40,000, and Enterprise on request. Annual billing is 17 % cheaper, and those are the prices shown first on the pricing page. The card-free trial is limited to 1,000 runs; the vendor does not state the number of days. The vendor offers no refunds for annual subscriptions, while Business overages are sold in bundles of 300,000 runs for 4,000 €.
Quiet price increase. The figure of 20 on the pricing page has not changed since January 2023; what it includes has. In 2023, 20 $ bought 5,000 runs; from March 2024, it bought half as many; in September 2025, dollars changed to euros and the Business plan appeared. The free plan was introduced in the first half of 2026.
What is free and what is not
Prices checked Sep 6, 2026 on n8n.io/pricing, the “Compare editions” documentation, the pricing-page archive, and the Timeweb Cloud, Beget, and Amvera websites
What we checked and how
| Fact | What we know | Verified |
|---|---|---|
| The pricing page shows the annual price by default, 17 % lower than monthly billing | n8n.io/pricing payload: Starter “price: 24”, “annualPrice: 240”; markup “20€ /mo, billed annually”, discount label “(Save 17%)”; period switcher in “annual” state | Sep 6, 2026 |
| A run counts for the entire workflow, not a step | FAQ n8n.io/pricing: «An execution is a single run of your entire workflow. It doesn’t matter how many steps are in the workflow or how much data it processes. It’s still a single execution» | Sep 6, 2026 |
| Community self-hosting without a key and without a run limit | “Compare editions” documentation: “You can stick with the free Community edition indefinitely”; list of what it lacks: Custom variables · Environments · External secrets · External storage · Log streaming · Multi-main · Projects · SSO · Sharing · Version control using Git | Sep 6, 2026 |
| A paid self-hosting key contacts the license server every day | n8n.io/pricing FAQ: “you receive a license key that must ping our license server daily to stay active”; N8N_LICENSE_AUTO_RENEW_ENABLED variable: with auto-renewal disabled, the key must be renewed manually every 10 days, otherwise paid features are disabled | Sep 6, 2026 |
| For 20 in 2023, users got 5,000 runs; from March 2024, they get 2,500 | n8n.io/pricing archive: snapshot Jun 8, 2023 “Starter $20 /month · 5k workflow executions”; snapshot Mar 19, 2024 “$20 /month · 2.5k workflow executions”; snapshot Sep 21, 2025 “20€ /mo, billed annually”, Business appeared for the first time: “667€ /mo … 40k workflow executions” | Sep 6, 2026 |
6. Can n8n be trusted
Three questions: what the license allows, how leaky 2026 was, and where n8n sends your data.
License. The vendor calls the model fair-code and explains it with examples. You can synchronize your company's data, write your own nodes, charge clients for workflow setup, and run n8n on an internal server. You cannot sell access to your n8n for money or release it under your own brand. Files marked .ee in the repository are not covered by this license at all; they can only be used with an Enterprise key.
What the Sustainable Use license allows
Vulnerabilities. Five critical vulnerabilities were disclosed from Dec 19, 2025 to Feb 4, 2026, and two received names. Ni8mare, scored 10.0 out of 10, provided access to server files without login and had already been fixed in version 1.121.0 on Nov 18, 2025, 50 days before disclosure. N8scape allowed an escape from the Python sandbox and was fixed by version 2.0 itself, which the vendor released on Dec 8, 2025 as “secure by default”. Cloud was affected too; this was not only a self-hosting problem.
Public instances. On Aug 5, 2026, GitGuardian found 4,576 leaked n8n keys in public commits; 321 live instances accepted someone else's key, while internet search revealed 31,793 installations. Since January 2026, n8n has had 48 vulnerability records by the same company's count. An instance stores keys for dozens of services, so updates and restricted access matter more than any other setting.
Data. Cloud runs on Microsoft Azure in the EU, and the vendor undergoes an external SOC 2 security audit once a year. Self-hosting sends data nowhere except for one thing: by default, it sends usage telemetry to the vendor, which can be disabled according to the instructions. A paid key pings the license server every day, the keyless Community edition does not contact the vendor's server, and free registration also issues a key. The workflow builder sends the model a description of nodes and connections, but not your keys or previous runs.
Reviews. Product Hunt: 4.81 out of 5 from 73 reviews and a “best for developers” award for winter 2026 (Sep 6, 2026); Capterra: 4.6 from 48 reviews, with 4.0 for ease of use (page data as of Aug 20, 2026). The most common downside in Product Hunt reviews, four mentions out of 73, is a steep learning curve. Practitioners on Habr add their own pitfalls: an 18 GB run database in four months and an out-of-memory crash for one client (May 11, 2026).
What we checked and how
| Fact | What we know | Verified |
|---|---|---|
| The license allows internal use and forbids selling access | Sustainable Use License 1.0, Limitations: “You may use or modify the software only for your own internal business purposes or for non-commercial or personal use”; license FAQ: not allowed: “White-labeling n8n and offering it to your customers for money” and “Hosting n8n and charging people money to access it” | Sep 6, 2026 |
| Ni8mare: score 10.0, file access without login, fixed in 1.121.0 | NVD, CVE-2026-21858: “Versions starting with 1.65.0 and below 1.121.0 enable an attacker to access files on the underlying server… A vulnerable workflow could grant access to an unauthenticated remote attacker… This issue is fixed in version 1.121.0”; Rapid7 Jan 8, 2026: the release fixing it came out Nov 18, 2025 | Sep 6, 2026 |
| The vulnerability wave also affected cloud | NVD, CVE-2026-21877: «This could result in full compromise and can impact both self-hosted and n8n Cloud instances. This issue is fixed in version 1.121.3» | Sep 6, 2026 |
| 4,576 leaked keys and 321 instances that accepted someone else's key | GitGuardian Aug 5, 2026: 4,576 unique n8n API keys from public GitHub commits, 1,255 hosts, 321 instances accepted at least one leaked key, 31,793 instances found via Shodan, 48 vulnerability records since January 2026 | Sep 6, 2026 |
| Self-hosting sends telemetry to the vendor by default | n8n Privacy Policy: “If you install n8n on your own server, and unless you opt out per our Documentation instructions… we process certain Usage Data”; disabling it: the telemetry-opt-out page in the documentation | Sep 6, 2026 |
| Cloud data in the EU on Microsoft Azure | n8n.io/legal/security: «n8n cloud uses Microsoft Azure for hosting. The physical hardware powering n8n, and the data stored by the platform, is currently hosted in the European Union»; annual SOC 2 audit by an independent auditor, scans every 90 days | Sep 6, 2026 |
7. Or Make
The split is not in the number of integrations, but in two questions: where they meter the money, per step or per run, and where the workflow lives, on their side or yours.
If a request goes through several departments and needs a shared approval order, compare the scenario with the Pega platform: it designs the application and runs the cases separately.
Make. A workflow builder from the Celonis group, which grew out of the Czech Integromat: 3,000 ready-made apps, workflows are drawn with modules on the same canvas, and since 2025 can also be built by chatting with Maia. It only runs in the cloud, gives 1,000 free credits a month with runs no more often than once every 15 minutes, Core costs 12 $, Pro 21 $ for 10,000 credits (make.com, Sep 6, 2026). A credit is charged for every module action; custom JavaScript or Python code costs two credits per second.
Zapier. The largest catalog, 9,000 apps, and the simplest model: an event in one, an action in another. Free includes 100 tasks per month; Professional starts at 19.99 $ for 750 tasks with annual billing and 29.99 $ month to month, with every workflow step and every AI call consuming a task (zapier.com, Sep 6, 2026). No self-hosted server, less code inside workflows than n8n, but its own MCP server, through which AI agents access the same app catalog.
What to choose for the task
Comparison, snapshot as of Sep 6, 2026: n8n.io/pricing, n8n documentation, nodul.ru, albato.ru, ApiX-Drive position Jun 1, 2023; make.com/en/pricing and zapier.com/pricing as live pages on Sep 6, 2026
8. History
In seven years, a Berlin special-effects specialist's night project grew to a 5.2 billion $ valuation and gained SAP as an investor, while along the way receiving its own license, two major versions, and a wave of critical vulnerabilities.
Jun 23
Jan Oberhauser uploads n8n code to GitHub in a first commit, “Initial commit to release”; the company is founded in Berlin the same year.
Oct 9
$180 million Series C at a $2.5 billion valuation led by Accel, with NVIDIA and Deutsche Telekom participating; $240 million raised in total.
Dec 8
Version 2.0 “secure by default”: code in nodes runs in isolated runners, while saving and publishing a workflow are separated.
Jan 8
Ni8mare vulnerability (CVE-2026-21858) published with a maximum score of 10.0: server-file access without login, already fixed in version 1.121.0 on 18.11.2025.
May 12
SAP takes an equity stake at a $5.2 billion valuation and integrates n8n into its environment for Joule Studio agents; 1,400 enterprise customers reported.
Aug 5
GitGuardian finds 4,576 leaked n8n keys in public commits, with 321 instances accepting someone else's key; about 32 thousand installations are visible online.
9. Frequently asked questions
What is n8n in plain language?+
An automation builder: on a canvas, connect «email received», «ask an AI model», and «write to a spreadsheet» nodes, turn on the scenario, and it runs on its own. The catalog has 2,147 nodes as of Sep 6, 2026, and you can add custom JavaScript or Python code to any step. It was made by the Berlin company n8n in 2019; its source code is open to read and can be installed on your own server for free.
Is n8n free?+
Yes, if you host it yourself: the Community edition costs €0, the number of users and executions is unlimited, no license key needed. You pay for the server. The n8n Cloud is paid, from €24 a month, and its free plan gives 50 executions a month.
How is n8n pronounced and what does it mean?+
«N-eight-n», in English n-eight-n. It is short for nodemation, «node» plus «automation»: founder Jan Oberhauser was looking for an available domain, did not like the long word, and there were eight letters between the two n's - hence the digit 8. On its press page, the vendor says the name is always written in lowercase.
How much does n8n Cloud cost?+
Starter is 24 € per month for 2,500 executions, Pro is 60 € for 10,000, Business is 800 € for 40,000, and Enterprise is on request (n8n.io/pricing, Sep 6, 2026). The pricing page shows annual-billing prices by default, 17 % lower: 20, 50, and 667 €. An execution covers an entire scenario, no matter how many steps it has.
How to install n8n?+
On your own server through Docker: one command from get.n8n.io, or the docker.n8n.io/n8nio/n8n image on port 5678.
Which AI model should you connect to n8n?+
Built-in nodes cover DeepSeek, OpenRouter and Ollama. Practitioners take a local model through Ollama, and then no keys and no payment are needed at all.
n8n or Make?+
n8n if you want to keep workflows in-house and not count steps: it counts a run as a whole, and self-hosting is free. Make if you need a ready-to-use service without a server: 3,000 apps, 1,000 free credits a month, but every module action uses a credit, and it only runs in the cloud. The choice is covered in section 7.
n8n open source?+
No, the vendor itself calls the model fair-code. The code is open to read, install, and modify, but the Sustainable Use license allows using n8n only within your company or personally: you cannot sell access to it or rebrand it for your own brand. GitHub does not recognize this license as open, and its API marks the repository as NOASSERTION.
How safe is it to self-host n8n?+
It depends on whether you keep it updated. From December 2025 through February 2026, five critical vulnerabilities were released; one of them, Ni8mare, had the maximum score of 10.0: unauthenticated access to server files, fixed in version 1.121.0. In August 2026, GitGuardian found 4,576 leaked n8n keys in public commits and 31,793 internet-visible installations. Keep the version current and do not expose an installation without a password and HTTPS.
Do you need to know how to program?+
Not for simple chains - nodes are configured with forms. But the learning curve is real: on Capterra, n8n gets 4.0 out of 5 for ease of use versus 4.6 overall, while the most common downside in Product Hunt reviews, four mentions out of 73, is «a steep learning curve». You will need at least to understand API and JSON, and not be afraid of Docker during installation.
What is an execution in pricing?+
One complete run of a scenario from trigger to finish, regardless of the number of steps and data volume. That is how the vendor defines it on the pricing page. The vendor recommends counting chatbot executions by number of messages, while in Make and Zapier the same scenario would charge an operation for every node.
Can you install n8n on Windows or Mac?+
Yes, through Docker with the same command as on a server; the vendor has no separate Windows or Mac app, and the editor opens at localhost:5678. Installation through npm still works for now, but the vendor announced that version 3.0 will stop supporting it in October 2026. For webhooks from outside, a local machine needs a tunnel; the vendor provides cloudflared only for testing, not production use.
Sources
- n8n.io - homepage: positioning, star counter, product loop (Sep 6, 2026) — official website
- n8n.io/pricing - cloud and self-hosted plans, execution and trial FAQ (Sep 6, 2026) — official website
- n8n.io/integrations - node catalog with a count of 2,147 (Sep 6, 2026) — official website
- n8n.io/workflows - template catalog with a count of 12,125 (Sep 6, 2026) — official website
- Documentation - Compare editions: Community, Registered, Business, Enterprise (Sep 6, 2026) — official documentation
- Documentation - Sustainable Use License: what is and is not allowed, with examples (Sep 6, 2026) — official documentation
- Documentation - Code node: JavaScript and Python, cloud limitations (Sep 6, 2026) — official documentation
- Documentation - AI Agent node (Sep 6, 2026) — official documentation
- Documentation - MCP Server Trigger (Sep 6, 2026) — official documentation
- Documentation - installation through npm and the 3.0 warning (Sep 6, 2026) — official documentation
- Documentation - n8n 3.0 breaking changes, October 2026 (Sep 6, 2026) — official documentation
- Documentation - cloud plan memory and storage (Sep 6, 2026) — official documentation
- Documentation - license variables: daily ping and renewal every 10 days (Sep 6, 2026) — official documentation
- Documentation - interface localization, N8N_DEFAULT_LOCALE variable (Sep 6, 2026) — official documentation
- n8n.io/legal/security - cloud on Microsoft Azure in the EU, audits (Sep 6, 2026) — official documentation
- n8n.io/legal/privacy - self-hosted installation telemetry by default (Sep 6, 2026) — official documentation
- n8n.io/press - founding date, lowercase name rule (Sep 6, 2026) — official website
- n8n.io/imprint - legal entity, Berlin, managing director (Sep 6, 2026) — official documentation
- n8n blog - new Sustainable Use license (Mar 17, 2022) — official release
- n8n blog - Series A of 12 mln $ (Apr 26, 2021) — official release
- n8n blog - Series B of 55 mln € (Mar 25, 2025) — official release
- n8n blog - Series C of 180 mln $ at a 2.5 bln $ valuation (Oct 9, 2025) — official release
- n8n blog - n8n 2.0, «secure by default» (Dec 8, 2025) — official release
- n8n press release - SAP investment at a 5.2 bln $ valuation, Joule Studio (May 12, 2026) — official release
- GitHub API - n8n-io/n8n repository: stars, forks, creation date, license (Sep 6, 2026) — official website
- n8n-io/n8n repository README - name origin, Quick Start, license (Sep 6, 2026) — official website
- TechCrunch - n8n seed round from Sequoia and firstminute (Mar 13, 2020) — press
- NVD — CVE-2026-21858 «Ni8mare», score 10.0 (Jan 8, 2026) — press
- Rapid7 — analysis of Ni8mare and N8scape, patch release date (Jan 8, 2026) — press
- GitGuardian — leaked n8n keys and exposed instances (Aug 5, 2026) — press
- community.n8n.io/about.json — forum size via the Discourse API (Sep 6, 2026) — official website
- Habr — «n8n: everything you need to know about the service», 344 thousand views (May 25, 2025) — practices
- Habr — self-hosted n8n in production: three pitfalls, an 18 GB database in 4 months (May 11, 2026) — practices
- Product Hunt — n8n: 4.81 from 73 reviews, pros and cons (Sep 6, 2026) — practices
- Capterra — n8n: 4.6 from 48 reviews, ease of use 4.0 (Sep 6, 2026) — practices
- Timeweb Cloud — n8n installation from the marketplace and server prices (Sep 6, 2026) — practices
- Beget — VPS with a ready-to-use n8n app, daily prices (Sep 6, 2026) — practices
- Amvera — n8n as a managed service, pricing plans (Sep 6, 2026) — practices
- check-host.net — test of access to n8n.io and app.n8n.cloud from a Moscow node (Sep 6, 2026) — practices
Useful reading before you start

