Updated 06.09.2026
PolyBuzz
Characters like Character.AI, but in Russian and without a login wall.
Sign in $0
Chat with ads and a queue; Basic $9,90 per month, 899 ₽ in the Russian App Store
Model not disclosed
Nine models across plans; the vendor does not disclose what is under the hood
From Russia except payments
The website and apps open, but a Russian card cannot pay for a subscription
Closed source
Source code is not published, no API
Choose it if you want to chat for free with any character in Russian and enter without an account. Do not choose it if you are not ready for ads directly in the chat: only a subscription from $9,90 per month removes them, and there is no way to pay for it from Russia.
PolyBuzz is a website and app where you chat with fictional characters, whether an anime hero, a “dominant CEO,” or someone you created yourself. Characters are created by users, the catalog claims 20 million, and you can move someone else’s character over directly from Character.AI using a card. The character remembers the conversation, replies by voice, and sends images in chat. All of this is free, the feed is open without registration, the interface is available in Russian, and you pay with ads between messages. It works like a book club with an open door: you can browse the shelves from the street, then talk to a character after entering. This card answers what PolyBuzz can do, whether it works from Russia, how much a subscription costs, and how it differs from Character.AI.
* Meta Platforms Inc. is recognized in Russia as an extremist organization, and its activities are prohibited; Facebook and Instagram are blocked. Meta AI and other company products are products of this organization.
Where PolyBuzz sits on the big AI map
Nearby: Character.AI·Replika·Talkie
1. Should you get it
There are two questions: are you ready for ads inside the chat, and do you need a character with a Russian description rather than machine translation.
What people come to PolyBuzz to do and whether they get it: the six most common Yandex requests over a month.
What people want from PolyBuzz
Search volume - Wordstat, Russia region, 06.09.2026
Who it is for. For those who want a companion for the mood: play out a scene with an anime hero, finish a story with a «dominant CEO», or talk to a character they created themselves. Messages are not counted, the site opens directly from Russia, the interface switches to Russian, and there is no selfie age check like its neighbor has.
Who else. For those leaving Character.AI. You can transfer your character from there with a card, the vendor explains how, and in the Russian Google Play listing PolyBuzz has 3.96 versus its neighbor's 2.3, with reviewers explicitly saying that is why they came.
Who it is not for. For those annoyed by ads: free users get them right in the chat, «watch an ad to continue», and half of recent Russian reviews are only about that. And for those expecting Russian characters: the catalog is global, character descriptions go through a translator, and you need to ask characters to reply in Russian.
Good fit: section 3 takes you from the site to your first chat. Comparing it with Character.AI? Then see the fork in section 7.
2. What PolyBuzz can do
Three floors: chat with a character, your own character with imports from others, and everything the vendor added around chat, from pictures to webtoons.
Chat with a character. Pick a hero from the feed, where the vendor claims 20 million characters, and chat as in a messenger. The character keeps the personality from its description, sends pictures in chat, and you can regenerate a reply or get a «hint»; both buttons spend coins. You can listen to a character's voice for free with a limit, unlimited only with a subscription.
Your own character. Name, gender, description, greeting, and who can talk to them: public characters appear in the feed and search, private ones are visible only to you. A voice is built from the library, with up to five timbres in a mix. The main move against its neighbor is here too: the site accepts character cards as JSON or PNG files, and the vendor's guide names Character.AI, Pygmalion, TavernAI, and six more platforms as donors.
Memory. The vendor is honest in its FAQ: memory is «technically limited», and the character forgets over time. Long memory comes with any subscription, «permanent» only with Ultimate, and its screen appears in the Russian listing: events, agreements, and a «our memories for 999 days» banner. Users praise and criticize memory in roughly equal measure.
Pictures and webtoons. A separate generator with 15 templates from stickers to a «character card», a gallery and library of other users' prompts, paid «live photos» for coins. On the same homepage, the vendor sells a second product: short dramas and webtoons featuring catalog heroes; the subscription calls this «full access to webtoon shots». Plus themed quests such as «LIAR GAME» with a «PLAY» button.
In Russian. The interface switches to Russian in settings, the site has an address polybuzz.ai/ru, and the Russian App Store listing carries its own screenshots with a Russian interface. The catalog is global: the same characters in the same order, descriptions are machine-translated, and tags include «Werewolf».
Replies. The vendor advises asking the character directly in chat to reply in Russian; it does not promise reply languages. In 57 recent reviews across three listings, users did not complain about Russian once.
What the vendor itself shows. In the App Store listing: a chat with a picture and call button, a catalog with personality chips, the permanent memory screen, and the character builder, all in Russian. We did not run PolyBuzz for this task ourselves; the mechanics come from the vendor's FAQ and guides, pricing tables, and other users' reviews.
3. How to start and age requirements
You can start from Russia without workarounds and even without an account: the feed is open to guests, but search, your own character, and subscriptions require sign-in.
Step 1. Open polybuzz.ai or install the app: it is available for iPhone in the Russian App Store listing, for Android in Google Play, while RuStore has a reupload from aggregator GoodApp, not the vendor, and it is one version behind. The site opens directly from a Russian IP address; a 06.09.2026 test from a Moscow node returned the same responses as Germany and the US.
Step 2. Browse the feed as a guest, then sign in for chat via Google, Apple, Facebook* or email. Under the service rules, it asks for your date of birth on first visit even as a guest, and guests cannot change it later. There is no desktop client; the website works on a computer, while «download for PC» searches lead to Android emulators.
Step 3. Choose a character from the feed or build your own with the «Create» button: name, gender, description, and greeting. Transfer a Character.AI character with a JSON file or PNG card; this works only on the website. Change the interface language in settings on the «Me» page.
Age. Under the vendor's rules from 01.06.2026, the service is adults-only worldwide; the App Store, Google Play in the Russian listing, and RuStore all set the same 18+. Document or selfie verification is enabled only in the UK; elsewhere, the threshold relies on the date of birth you enter yourself. The «child mode» line in the vendor FAQ contradicts its own rules, while the agreement itself twice mentions uploads by «you or your child».
«Hack» and «premium free». «Hack» and «premium mod» queries total 12 thousand a month (Wordstat, 06.09.2026), but there is nothing to crack: subscription status and coin balance live on the server, while files in search results lag dozens of releases behind the live version 2.2.72. Such builds have nothing to do with the vendor.
Not working? In a RuStore review on 04.09.2026, the app «doesn't even open», while on 24.08.2026 it «only works with a VPN, and not always»; we did not test mobile networks, but the site opened from Moscow datacenter nodes. The service code has a regional denial mechanism, and the «service unavailable in your region» screen is translated into Russian too, but it was not enabled on 06.09.2026.
Steps checked on 06.09.2026 against the live site, vendor FAQ and guides, store listings, and an access test from Russian nodes
4. What the tests show
There are no arenas or benchmarks for companions, so the measurements here cover demand, placement in global lists, and store ratings.
Demand in Russia. «Polybuzz» gets 126 thousand searches a month, «polybaz» another 35 thousand, and «poly buzz» 13 thousand (Wordstat, 06.09.2026). This is the only companion searched in Russia almost as much as Character.AI, if you add up all forms of the name, demand for all other neighbors is two orders of magnitude lower. The most common tails are not about capabilities but actions: download, hack, in Russian, no ads. There is almost no Russian analysis of the service online; the first search-results page is dominated by intermediaries and subscription sellers.
Worldwide ranking. In a16z's list of one hundred consumer AI apps, PolyBuzz is in both the web top 50 and mobile top 50: in the 27.08.2025 edition it moved into the main mobile list from the “on the cusp” list, while the 09.03.2026 edition, using January data, keeps it in both. Exact ranks are shown as an image. In the storefront screenshot, the vendor calls itself “#1 AI character chatbot,” while the live US App Store storefront on 06.09.2026 shows it ranked #48 in the “Entertainment” chart. Similarweb ranks polybuzz.ai #417 worldwide, with 17 minutes and 17 pages per visit, with more than half of traffic from the US (July 2026).
Stores. App Store gives it 4,45 from 470 thousand ratings in the US and 4,42 from 5,8 thousand on the Russian storefront; Google Play, with 1,2 million reviews and more than 50 million installs, shows 4,09 in English and 3,96 in Russian (06.09.2026). Unlike its Android neighbor, there is no rating collapse here, and recent Russian reviews fault the ads rather than the service as a whole.
What is known about the scale
The vendor does not disclose audience, revenue, or investor funds, and has no company profile in any startup database. This tool’s position among its peers in our catalog is shown beneath the card title, while the full tool ranking is on the main page.
5. How much it costs
Messages are free and unmetered; users pay for no ads and higher-tier models. There are three subscriptions, and the storefront shows different prices to different people.
Free. All characters, custom characters, images, and voice come with limits. The limits are not in a counter but in friction: ads directly in chat, a queue under load, a basic model, and short memory. The vendor publishes numerical limits nowhere, and its chat rules are marked experimental, so they may differ between users.
Ads. Where the vendor talks about being free, it does not warn about ads, yet it sells “ad-free” in the subscription description, and Google Play labels the app “Contains ads.” App Store RU reviews from late August 2026 describe the pattern: a video every few minutes or every ten messages, one to one-and-a-half minutes long, plus a forced “break” after several minutes of chatting.
Three tiers. Basic $9,90, Premium $19,90, and Ultimate $29,90 per month; the yearly price everywhere equals ten monthly payments, while weekly plans from $4,99 are sold in the apps. All three remove ads and the queue, provide long memory and the Standard model. Premium adds the Passion and Tale models; Ultimate adds five more, including persistent memory. In the Apple receipt, the Basic tier is called Poly Standard, but it is the same thing.
Two price lists. The website storefront shows different things to different people. The site archive from US addresses showed $13,99, $27,99, and $40,99 for the same tiers for six straight months, while our 34 requests on 06.09.2026 returned three sets: three quarters got Basic for $9,90, one quarter had no Basic tier at all, and entry started at $14,90 per week or $15,90 per month. Page data marks this with an experiment field.
Struck-through. Struck-through “$55,2” prices stay up year-round and are calculated by multiplying the weekly price, while the “today only” timer on the coins page never expires. App Store pricing is more stable: $9,90 or 899 ₽ are the same in all countries.
Coins and opals. Internal currency is sold by the unit: turns with higher-tier models, response regeneration, reply prompts, and “live photos.” Packs range from 1000 coins for $2,49 to 20 000 for $19,90. Opals, the second currency, are known at one price: 1000 for $5,90 in the App Store. The vendor credits character creators with a third currency, Poins, for other people’s spending on their characters.
Paying from Russia. The Russian App Store storefront shows 899, 1 790, and 2 490 ₽ per month, but there is no way to pay: stores do not accept Russian cards, and the RuStore build takes payments through Google, while three reviews from two weeks in August 2026 report payments that do not go through. The website has a separate ruble checkout page at a hard-coded exchange rate, but we did not see a live payment from it. Individual payments still happen: on 05.08.2026, an App Store RU user wrote “I bought the maximum subscription,” but the method is unknown.
Middleman. There is only one working route: a middleman with a markup from 350 ₽ per month of Basic. How to subscribe, in the guide to paying for AI services from Russia.
Refund. Under the service rules, paid purchases are not refunded even after a subscription is canceled, and a separate clause denies refunds for purchases made by a child. Beneath the plan table, however, there is a “Refund&Unsubscribe” button; it is an application form, not a guarantee. Canceling a store subscription goes through App Store or Google Play, and access remains until the end of the paid period.
PolyBuzz plans and what they include
Prices checked on 06.09.2026 against polybuzz.ai/membership and /coins, App Store US and RU storefronts, and the site archive · middleman fees from their own materials
What we checked and how
| Fact | What we know | Verified |
|---|---|---|
| Basic $9,90 · Premium $19,90 · Ultimate $29,90 per month, yearly equals ten monthly payments | polybuzz.ai/membership page data: keys web_sub_st_month_990, web_sub_st_year_9900, web_sub_pre_*, web_sub_ult_*; the same monthly prices in the App Store US in-app purchases section: “Poly Standard Monthly $9.90”, “Poly Premium Monthly $19.90”, “Poly Ultimate Monthly Plan $29.90” | 06.09.2026 |
| The website storefront shows different sets to different people: $9,90 or $13,99 for Basic, while one quarter get no Basic | Archive snapshots of polybuzz.ai/membership from US addresses on 28.02, 30.03, 29.06, 28.08, and 05.09.2026 — $13,99 / $27,99 / $40,99; snapshots on 20.01 and 06.09.2026 — $9,90 / $19,90 / $29,90; 34 live requests on 06.09.2026 from one address: 26 times Basic $9,90, 4 times a set without Basic with Premium $15,90 per month, 4 times a set without Basic with Ultimate $37,30 per week; page data field abRes with values 52 and 53; struck-through price = weekly × 11,07 (month) or × 130,71 (year) | 06.09.2026 |
| App Store RU — 899 ₽ Basic, 1 790 ₽ Premium, 2 490 ₽ Ultimate per month | In-app purchases section of the Russian storefront apps.apple.com/ru/app/id6449190344: “Poly Standard Monthly 899,00 ₽”, “Poly Premium Monthly 1 790,00 ₽”, “Poly Ultimate Monthly Plan 2 490,00 ₽”, coins from 49 to 899 ₽ | 06.09.2026 |
| Ads for free users are confirmed automatically; when asked about being free, the vendor says nothing about them | Google Play: “Contains ads”; every website page has a Google AdSense script in its head; the site code has six ad endpoints, including a reward for watching ads in chat, and three networks — Google, Venatus, Taboola; the FAQ answer to “Is PolyBuzz free?” says nothing about ads, while its answer about subscriptions sells “ad-free experiences”; App Store RU reviews: “Ads every 3 minutes… for 1-1,5 minutes” (24.08.2026), “every 10 messages” (25.08.2026); RuStore, 12.08.2026: “There are always ads, either watch or pay” | 06.09.2026 |
| A Russian card cannot pay, but one payment in App Store RU is described | RuStore: “Payment through Play Market does not work, there is no way to buy Premium by other means!” (17.08.2026), “I cannot pay for a purchase” (23.08.2026), “it is impossible to buy a subscription” (31.08.2026); App Store RU, 21.08.2026: “the subscription cannot be paid for with Russian cards”; App Store RU, 05.08.2026: “I bought the maximum subscription,” method unnamed; the RuStore listing is a reupload by GoodApp, an aggregator, with payment through Google; the website’s separate checkout page calculates rubles at a hard-coded rate of 71,51 and sends RUB through Payssion, but does not show prices without sign-in | 06.09.2026 |
| No refund even after cancellation, nor for a child’s purchase; the website has a refund button | Website Terms of Use (rev. 01.06.2026), cl. 9: “any user payment made in accordance with our rates and policies will not be refunded, even if the subscription is subsequently cancelled”; also: “no refund request will be accepted for our Services on the ground of a child user’s purchase”; beneath the plan table is a “Refund&Unsubscribe” button, and for users paying through PayPal, refunds and unsubscriptions are sent to PayPal | 06.09.2026 |
6. Can PolyBuzz be trusted
Four questions: who is behind the service, what happens to chats, how the “unfiltered” advertising ended, and whether it will work from Russia tomorrow.
Who is the vendor. The apps are published in stores by Cloud Whale Interactive Technology, a Delaware company at a registered-agent address, while the website is operated under an agreement dated 01.06.2026 by a Hong Kong company. The vendor does not explain how they are connected; founders’ and executives’ names are not public, nor are investors or revenue. Disputes under the agreement go to New York arbitration with a class-action waiver.
Chats. In the FAQ, the vendor promises that neither character creators nor the company itself have access to chat text. The privacy policy says nothing either way about training on chats, but does allow uploaded photos and precise geolocation to be "used to train the algorithm." What you upload grants the company a perpetual, irrevocable, free license with downstream transfer rights, while you receive a limited, revocable right to use the result. If the vendor wins money over your character, half goes to it under the contract.
Disclosure index. VerifyWise's independent disclosure index, dated 13.08.2026, gave the policy a D for what it does not say: zero points for disclosing training and retention periods. This rates the text, not the practice.
Filter. The vendor has three voices, all official. Marketing calls chats "unlimited," while a press release dated 18.10.2024 explicitly said chat content is not filtered. The rules prohibit publishing pornography and promise AI and human moderation of the feed.
Questionnaire and storefront. The App Store questionnaire acknowledges "frequent intense sexual content" in the app. There is no contradiction: the storefront is moderated, while private chat is for adults.
Three vendor voices and the regulator
Regulator. On 07.05.2025, the UK advertising regulator ASA upheld a complaint over a PolyBuzz ad for an "unfiltered Character.AI alternative" with explicit lines, shown inside a game rated 12+, and banned it. The vendor did not respond to the regulator's inquiry, and the regulator counted that silence as a third violation. In December 2025, the vendor renamed the app in the store, its listing address changed, and a rumor spread online that it had been removed, but there is no confirmation of removal.
What is missing. No lawsuits, US Federal Trade Commission cases, attorney general investigations, leaks, or rightsholder claims against PolyBuzz were found as of 06.09.2026, although Genshin Impact and Naruto characters are openly available in the catalog. The entire wave of pressure that hit Character.AI passed it by.
From Russia. The domain is not in the registry of banned sites; no Roskomnadzor claims or court cases were found, and the rules contain no country restrictions. The service code has a regional denial mechanism, and the account-registration country is sent to the server with every request, so "works today" does not mean "forever." The vendor does not say where data is physically stored.
What we checked and how
| Fact | What we know | Verified |
|---|---|---|
| Two legal entities: app — Cloud Whale (Delaware), website — a Hong Kong company | App terms (rev. 18.05.2026): "provided to users by CLOUD WHALE INTERACTIVE TECHNOLOGY LLC", 300 Delaware Avenue, Wilmington; website terms (rev. 01.06.2026): "operated by Singularity Mutual Entertainment Culture Media Limited in Hong Kong"; Cloud Whale is not named once on the website itself | 06.09.2026 |
| Photos and geolocation — "to train the algorithm"; the policy is silent on chats | Privacy policy (rev. 01.06.2026): "photos/storage: to collect the photos that you wish to upload and display to other users, or train our AI algorithm", "precise geolocation: to train our AI algorithm"; FAQ: "neither the creators nor Poly have access to the chat content"; the documents contain no opt-out toggle for training | 06.09.2026 |
| For uploads — a perpetual, irrevocable license to the vendor; for yourself — limited and revocable | Website and app terms, identically: "you grant us a permanent, irrevocable, free of charge, perpetual, non-exclusive, sublicensable (multi-tiered) license… to use the Licensed Contents worldwide"; user: "a limited, revocable, non-exclusive, non-transferable, non-sublicensable right"; "all compensation… obtained from the actions to protect the Licensed Contents shall be shared with us in halves" | 06.09.2026 |
| VerifyWise disclosure index — D, 44 out of 100 | Score dated 13.08.2026: disclosure of training on data 0 out of 4, retention and deletion periods 0 out of 4, third-party sharing 1 out of 5; "no opt-out or opt-in toggle for training"; this is an automated index of policy text, not an audit of practice | 06.09.2026 |
| 18+ under vendor rules and on storefronts, verification only in the UK | Website terms (rev. 01.06.2026): "strictly prohibit for minors (less than 18-year-old) worldwide", "Guest users cannot change their birthdate after it is submitted", verification through Ondato and Yoti "to comply with UK Online Safety Act"; current US App Store listing: "Age Rating 18+ Years" (the old iTunes API field still returns 17+); Google Play in Russian locale and RuStore: 18+, in English locale Mature 17+; the contract nevertheless twice refers to uploads "by you and/or your child" | 06.09.2026 |
| ASA, 07.05.2025 — complaint upheld; vendor did not respond to the regulator | Decision A25-1278753 on one complaint: ad dated 10.02.2025 in the game Room Sort ("rated as suitable for those aged 12 years and older") with the text "Me after finding a cai alternative with No Filters!!", violating CAP Code rules 1.3, 4.1, and 1.7 (unreasonable delay); "Cloud Whale Interactive Technology did not respond to the ASA’s enquiries"; the game developer asked ad networks to block the advertiser | 06.09.2026 |
| The polybuzz.ai domain is not in the registry of banned sites | Registry export (antifilter.download mirror, 1 623 417 domains, updated 06.09.2026 01:46 GMT): polybuzz occurrences — 0, with Instagram* and a known-blocked torrent tracker as positive controls; a check-host probe: a Moscow node that did not open either control opened polybuzz.ai in 0,6 s | 06.09.2026 |
7. PolyBuzz or Character.AI
The split is not in the characters, since users make them on both platforms, but in the price of freedom: PolyBuzz allows access without age verification and in Russian, while Character.AI verifies age by selfie and keeps a stricter filter.
Different access. Since November 2025, Character.AI has closed open chat to everyone under 18 and verifies every user's age by selfie; without an account, it does not even show the catalog. PolyBuzz opens the feed to guests, asks for a date of birth, and verifies documents only in the UK.
One ad. Both have it for free users: the rival admitted it added ad slots, while here it sits between messages and accounts for half of recent Russian reviews. A subscription removes it for about the same price, $9,90 versus $9,99 per month, but PolyBuzz also has two more tiers up to $29,90 and individual coins.
Ratings in Russia. In Russian storefronts, the rival sits near the bottom, at 2,3 in Google Play and 2,7 in RuStore, while PolyBuzz holds 3,96 and 4,2 with three hundred ratings in RuStore. People explain the switch plainly; an App Store RU review dated 04.09.2026 says: "if Character could not do it, you did." PolyBuzz accepts your character from there as a file; the vendor itself describes the transfer.
Who else is nearby. Alice AI offers around thirty characters from Yandex and a builder for your own in Russian with payment in rubles, but Talkie builds a similar catalog, though it is searched for dozens of times less often in Russia.
Further down the list. Chai is in the same genre with even lower demand, while Replika grows one steady friend instead of a catalog.
What to choose for the task
Comparison — snapshot 06.09.2026: PolyBuzz FAQ, rules, and storefronts, store listings · Character.AI and Alice AI facts — their catalog cards (snapshots 05.09.2026) · Talkie, Chai, and Replika in the catalog — snapshots 19.08.2026
8. History
Over three years, the store listing has had three names, from a language app to the second most sought-after companion in Russia, and its only penalty was for a "no filters" ad.
23.05
The app launches in the App Store under the name Poly.AI: its store listing was inherited from the PolySpeak language app, and its technical identifier is still speakmaster.
27.08
Fifth edition of a16z's “Top 100 Gen AI Consumer Apps” list: PolyBuzz moves from the “up-and-comers list” into the main mobile top 50 and remains in the web top 50.
14.11
By this date, a third Ultimate tier at $29,90 per month appears in the subscription storefront; it was not there yet on 10.10.2025. The Standard plan has been renamed Basic by then.
23.12
The App Store app is renamed from “Chat with AI Friends” to “Chat with Characters,” and its listing address changes; a rumor of its removal spread online, but there is no confirmation.
09.03
Sixth edition of the a16z list using January 2026 data: PolyBuzz is in both top 50 lists, mobile and web.
01.06
New version of the site's rules and policy: a Hong Kong company is named as the site operator, with an 18+ threshold worldwide and mandatory age verification for the UK.
9. Frequently asked questions
What is PolyBuzz in simple terms?+
A website and app where you chat with fictional characters: an anime hero, a celebrity, an imaginary friend, or someone you build yourself from a description and image. Characters are created by users, and the vendor claims 20 million. The app launched in the App Store on 23.05.2023 as Poly.AI, was renamed PolyBuzz in November 2024, and is published by Delaware-based Cloud Whale Interactive Technology.
Is PolyBuzz free?+
Yes, chats with any character, your own character, and images are available without payment, and the vendor does not count messages. You pay through in-chat ads and a queue during high load, while higher-tier models and “persistent memory” are available only with a subscription. The vendor publishes no numerical free limits anywhere, and rules may differ between users (checked 06.09.2026).
How much does a PolyBuzz subscription cost?+
Three tiers: Basic $9,90, Premium $19,90, and Ultimate $29,90 per month; the annual price is ten monthly payments for all tiers (website, 06.09.2026). In an Apple receipt, Basic is called Poly Standard. In the Russian App Store listing, the same tiers cost 899, 1 790, and 2 490 ₽ per month. The website listing shows different people different prices and packages: an archive from US addresses kept Basic at $13,99, while a quarter of visitors are not shown the Basic tier at all; store pricing is uniform.
Does PolyBuzz work from Russia?+
Yes, the website, Russian locale, and catalog open directly from a Russian address. A 06.09.2026 test through a Moscow node that could not open Instagram* or a known-blocked torrent tracker that same minute gave PolyBuzz the same responses as from Germany and the US, and the domain is absent from the blocked-sites registry. There is one barrier: payment, as a Russian card cannot pay for a subscription.
Is PolyBuzz available in Russian?+
Yes, Russian is among the interface languages, available at polybuzz.ai/ru, and the Russian App Store listing even includes app screenshots in Russian. The characters are the same as in the English catalog: descriptions are machine-translated and sometimes awkward. Characters reply in Russian if asked; the vendor does not promise response languages, and recent reviews do not complain about Russian.
Can PolyBuzz be used without registration?+
Partly. The character feed and any character page open to a guest without an account, but catalog search does not work without signing in and is an account privilege. Under the service rules, even a guest is asked for a date of birth and cannot change it later. Sign in through Google, Apple, Facebook*, or email.
What age can you use PolyBuzz from?+
From age 18: the vendor’s rules dated 01.06.2026 prohibit minors worldwide, and the App Store, Google Play in the Russian listing, and RuStore assign the same 18+ rating. Document or selfie verification is enabled only for the United Kingdom; in other countries, age relies on the date of birth you enter yourself. The “kids mode” line in the vendor’s FAQ contradicts its own rules.
How can you pay for PolyBuzz from Russia?+
You cannot pay directly with a Russian card: the App Store and Google Play do not accept it, while the RuStore build pays through Google, and three reviews from two weeks in August 2026 report failed payments. Individual payments do happen: on 05.08.2026, an App Store RU user wrote “I bought the top subscription,” but the method is not visible. There is only one working route, an intermediary with a markup from 350 ₽ per month for Basic; details are in our guide to paying for AI from Russia.
What neural network is inside PolyBuzz?+
The vendor does not say. The subscription listing has nine models with its own names: Standard and Long Memory on every paid tier, Passion and Tale with Premium, and Overture, Lumina, Conqueror, Saga, and Permanent Memory only with Ultimate. The vendor’s pages contain no mentions of GPT, Llama, or Claude, nor any technical documentation. There is no public API.
Does PolyBuzz read my chats?+
In its FAQ, the vendor promises that neither character creators nor the company itself can access chat text. Its privacy policy dated 01.06.2026 does not mention whether chats are used for training, but says uploaded photos and precise geolocation “may be used to train the algorithm.” On 13.08.2026, the independent VerifyWise disclosure index gave the policy a D rating for what it does not say.
How do I cancel a PolyBuzz subscription?+
A store subscription is canceled in the App Store or Google Play; the vendor describes only this route in its FAQ, and access remains until the end of the paid period. The website has a “Refund&Unsubscribe” button below the pricing table, but its service rules say paid amounts are not refunded even after cancellation. For people who paid through PayPal, the interface sends refunds and cancellation to PayPal.
How do I transfer a character from Character AI to PolyBuzz?+
By uploading a character card: on the website, character creation accepts JSON files and PNG cards, and the vendor’s guide names Character.AI, Pygmalion, TavernAI, Chub, and others as donor platforms. To export from Character.AI, the guide recommends the third-party CAI Tools extension for Chrome and Firefox. Import works only in the web version.
PolyBuzz or Character AI?+
PolyBuzz if you want to open a chat from Russia without age verification, with a Russian interface and a 3,96 rating versus its neighbor’s 2,3 in the Russian Google Play listing. Character.AI if you need a catalog of 10 million characters with English descriptions, calls, and a strict filter. Both have ads on free plans; the choice is covered in section 7.
Sources
- polybuzz.ai — home page, character feed, and FAQ (06.09.2026) — official website
- polybuzz.ai/ru — Russian website locale (06.09.2026) — official website
- polybuzz.ai/membership — Basic, Premium, Ultimate plans (06.09.2026) — official website
- polybuzz.ai/coins — coins and what they are spent on (06.09.2026) — official website
- PolyBuzz website Terms of Use (rev. 01.06.2026) — official documentation
- PolyBuzz Privacy Policy (rev. 01.06.2026) — official documentation
- PolyBuzz app Terms of Use, Cloud Whale (rev. 18.05.2026) — official documentation
- Vendor guide to creating a character (06.09.2026) — official documentation
- Vendor guide to importing characters from other platforms (06.09.2026) — official documentation
- App Store US — PolyBuzz: Chat with Characters, version, rating, purchases (06.09.2026) — official website
- App Store RU — PolyBuzz, ruble prices and Russian listing screenshots (06.09.2026) — official website
- App Store RU review feed, 49 reviews from 23.08–04.09.2026 — practices
- Google Play — PolyBuzz: Chat with AI Friends, installs, ads, age rating (06.09.2026) — official website
- RuStore — GoodApp aggregator card and payment reviews (06.09.2026) — practices
- PRWeb — Poly.AI press release: “does not filter chat content” (18.10.2024) — official release
- PRWeb — press release on renaming Poly.AI to PolyBuzz (25.01.2025) — official release
- ASA — ruling A25-1278753 on advertising by Cloud Whale Interactive Technology (07.05.2025) — official release
- a16z — Top 100 Gen AI Consumer Apps, sixth edition (09.03.2026) — press
- a16z — Top 100 Gen AI Consumer Apps, fifth edition (27.08.2025) — press
- Similarweb — polybuzz.ai, ranking and engagement, July 2026 — practices
- TechCrunch × Appfigures — companion app market (12.08.2025) — press
- Wayback Machine — App Store listing 06.12.2024: «PolyBuzz: formerly Poly.AI», version 2.0.0 from 27.11.2024 — practices
- Registrar RDAP — polybuzz.ai domain registered on 17.10.2024 — practices
- VerifyWise AI Trust Index — PolyBuzz, disclosure rating D (13.08.2026) — practices
- Wayback Machine — polybuzz.ai/membership snapshots, 44 snapshots since 28.11.2024 — practices
- check-host.net — polybuzz.ai access test from Russian nodes and reference countries (06.09.2026) — practices
- Export of the registry of banned websites, antifilter mirror (06.09.2026) — practices
Useful reading before you start
- What is vibecoding: starting from scratch.
- Character.AI: the neighbor PolyBuzz takes characters from.
- The full AI tools ranking.

