Grok Build
A code agent powered by Grok: it grew from the terminal into building apps in chat.
Sign in $0
Chat and terminal on the free Grok plan
Any model + your own
Grok 4.7, plus other models in the terminal with your own key
Open source
Apache 2.0, external changes are not accepted
Take it if you already live in Grok: the agent is included in every plan, including the free one, and builds an app right in the chat. The vendor does not disclose the free plan's limits.
Grok Build is a code agent from the world of Grok, the chatbot from SpaceXAI (formerly xAI). It has two doors. An engineer installs it in the terminal, like Claude Code or Codex. Everyone else types what they want built into the Grok chat and gets a working app right in the conversation: with a link you can open on your phone and show to friends. Since August 19, 2026, that button has been on every Grok plan, even the free one. This card answers what the agent can do, what it costs, and how to use it.
Where Grok Build sits on the big AI map
Nearby: Claude CodeΒ·CodexΒ·OpenCodeΒ·aiderΒ·+ another 60
1. Should you get it
The decision comes down to two things: where you already live and how much effort you are willing to put into access.
Who it is for. For those already in Grok who want to try vibecoding without new subscriptions: the build button is part of every plan, and the finished app lives at a link right away. It also suits engineers who need an open terminal agent cheaper than Claude Code. In the Artificial Analysis index of Sep 25, 2026 a task with Grok 4.7 costs $8.82 versus $13.04 for the leader, and another model can be plugged in with your own key.
Who it is not for. Those for whom code privacy matters more than price. In July 2026 the terminal version sent whole git repositories to the vendor, until the upload was switched off on the server side.
Starting from scratch? The chat door is exactly for this: you do not need to write code at all. But to understand what to ask the agent for and how to check the result, start with the page about vibecoding β the link is below.
A good fit β section 3 shows both options. Choosing between it and Claude Code: see section 7.
2. What it can do
One agent, two faces: in chat it builds whole apps, in the terminal it works like a regular code agent.
In chat. Describe a game, website, or dashboard in words, and Grok builds a working version right in the conversation: edits are in words too, iteration after iteration. The finished app is published to a grok.me address with one button, and you choose visibility, from Β«only meΒ» to Β«the whole internetΒ». In the official demo, the Hyper Racer arcade game is built in 12 minutes 4 seconds.
You can remake someone else's. Any published app can be forked with the remix button and becomes your draft. Dashboards connect live data through connectors, while an integrated secrets manager stores third-party service keys.
The code is not locked in. The whole project is exported to a GitHub repository: then you can continue in your usual editor or the terminal version of the agent. You can attach your own domain to the published app.
In the terminal. A full-screen text interface, written in Rust, with the agent's code open. The signature move is parallel subagents, each in an isolated copy of the repository, so they do not trample each other's files. The rest of the set is standard for the genre: a headless mode for scripts, MCP, your own project rules in AGENTS.md.
Your choice of model. Since Sep 21, 2026 the agent has been running on Grok 4.7. In the terminal version you can also write another model with your own key into the config, if its API is shaped like OpenAI's or Anthropic's.
3. Where it works and how to start
There are two doors: chat for everyone and the terminal for those who live in code.
Chat. Open grok.com, switch to Build mode, and write what to build. It works in the browser, on iOS, and on Android. The apps are hidden from RU stores, so the browser is more reliable on a phone.
How to install the terminal version
Step 1. Install the agent with a single command on macOS, Linux or in WSL:
curl -fsSL https://x.ai/cli/install.sh | bashOn Windows the same thing is done by a command in PowerShell:
irm https://x.ai/cli/install.ps1 | iexStep 2. Run grok in the project folder. On the first launch it will open the browser to sign in to a Grok account; you can try it on the free plan too. For work over the API, the key is taken at console.x.ai.
Step 3. Give your first task in words and watch the process: the agent shows its steps and edits right in the interface.
The install commands and sign-in were checked on Sep 26, 2026 against docs.x.ai/build/overview and x.ai/build
4. What the tests show
An agent measurement is always a measurement of the pair Β«agent + modelΒ». An agent has no score on its own.
Latest measurement. In the Artificial Analysis agent index of Sep 25, 2026 the Grok Build + Grok 4.7 pair scores 56.3 points. That is fifth place out of six pairs in our AI agent index, with only the Claude Code and Codex pairs above it. The leader, Claude Code with Opus 5.5, holds 66.
Price from the same measurement. At API prices the task cost $8.82 and 39 minutes versus $13.04 and 64.5 minutes for the leader. With Grok 4.6 the same pair scored 47 points for $3.57. With Grok 4.7 the pair gained nine points, but the task became two and a half times more expensive.
Community measurement. 27,100 GitHub stars and more than five thousand forks in two and a half months of a public repository (measured Sep 26, 2026). Stars do not measure code quality, but they show well how many engineers came to take a look.
Agents board: weight β editorial Β· AA score β best pair Β· Artificial Analysis, Sep 25, 2026 Β· Β«βΒ» β pair not measured
5. How much it costs
Grok Build has no separate price: it is included in Grok plans, so you pay for the plan, not the agent.
Free plan. Since Aug 19, 2026 building in chat is available on any plan, including the free one, and the vendor also calls the terminal version available for free (Sep 26, 2026). How many requests the free plan gives, the vendor does not publish.
Paid tiers. SuperGrok costs $30 a month, SuperGrok Plus $100; these are the prices the vendor shows on the plans page (Sep 26, 2026). Heavy costs about $300 according to guides. The plan's allowance is shared for the week: the agent spends it together with chat, images and voice.
Grok plans and what they give the agent
Prices checked Sep 26, 2026 Β· SuperGrok and Plus from the vendor's plans page, Heavy from aggregator summaries, hence "about"
What we checked and how
| Fact | What we know | Verified |
|---|---|---|
| Grok Build is in every Grok plan since Aug 19, 2026 | x.ai/news/grok-build-for-everyone: "available on every plan, on the web and on mobile"; in the x.ai/pricing table Grok Build is marked on all plans | Sep 26, 2026 |
| Free-plan limits are not published | There is no official figure either on the plans page or in the vendor's FAQ; "about 10 prompts in a couple of hours" is practitioner hearsay, we do not take it as a number | Sep 26, 2026 |
| SuperGrok $30/mo, Plus $100/mo, Heavy about $300/mo | x.ai/pricing in the browser: the SuperGrok and Plus prices; Heavy without a price, the $300 comes from aggregators (ai-toolbox and others) | Sep 26, 2026 |
| The terminal version can be tried for free | x.ai/build: "Available to try for Free"; at the launch on May 25, 2026 the CLI was only for SuperGrok and X Premium Plus | Sep 26, 2026 |
6. Can you trust it with code
We look at four things: where your project lives, what is visible in the agent's code, what has already happened and how mature it is.
The project lives with the vendor. The chat version builds and publishes apps in the SpaceXAI cloud: the grok.me address lives on its servers. There is an exit: the whole project is exported to GitHub, so the work cannot be locked inside the service. An integrated secrets manager stores third-party API keys, and they are not written into code.
You can read the agent's code, but not fix it. The repository is open under Apache 2.0, and the agent is written in Rust. This is a storefront export: the vendor does not publish development history or accept external changes. It is enough to check Β«what the agent does on my machineΒ», but not for community life.
There was a code leak. In July 2026 researchers showed that the terminal version sent the entire git repository to the vendor's cloud, with history and secrets from commits. The upload was switched off on the server side, Elon Musk promised to delete everything that had been uploaded, and on July 15 the vendor opened the agent's code.
The version is no longer early. The terminal agent was announced as a beta on May 25, 2026, on Aug 7 it reached version 1.0, and by Sep 20 it had already updated to 1.0.40. An unfamiliar agent still gets its first tasks in a test project, not in a production repository.
What we checked and how
| Fact | What we know | Verified |
|---|---|---|
| Apps built in the chat version are hosted and run in the vendor's cloud | Publishing on grok.me (x.ai/news/grok-build-for-everyone); GitHub export is available | Aug 23, 2026 |
| The code is open (Apache 2.0, Rust); external PRs are not accepted | GitHub API: license Apache-2.0, language Rust; README: "External contributions are not accepted", the repo is synced from an internal monorepo | Sep 26, 2026 |
| July 2026: the CLI uploaded the entire git repository to the vendor's cloud | The Register, Jul 14, 2026: the upload was switched off on the server, Musk promised to delete what had been uploaded; the code was opened Jul 15 (x.ai/news) | Sep 26, 2026 |
| Third-party API keys are in the built-in secrets manager | x.ai/news/grok-build-for-everyone: secrets management | Aug 23, 2026 |
| The CLI has been at version 1.0 since Aug 7, 2026 | x.ai/build/changelog: 1.0.0 on Aug 7, 2026, the latest entry is 1.0.40 on Sep 20, 2026; the announcement on May 25, 2026 went out as an early beta | Sep 26, 2026 |
7. Grok Build or Claude Code
The most frequent search question about Grok Build. The short answer: it is a trade of result against price and barrier to entry.
A different trade-off. Claude Code holds the best pair in the Artificial Analysis index, 66 points with Opus 5.5 against 56.3 for Grok Build with Grok 4.7 (Sep 25, 2026). Grok Build answers with price: the average task costs $8.82 against $13.04 at API prices.
Different entry barriers. Claude Code lives in the terminal and expects you to read code. Grok Build has a door with no threshold: chat-based building on any plan, including the free one. For someone with no coding experience, it is the only one of the two paths open right away.
Who else is nearby. Freedom to choose the model comes from OpenCode and aider: both are open and work with any provider. Grok Build also accepts another model with your own key, but out of the box it runs on Grok 4.7.
The same score, cheaper. Codex with GPT-6 Sol scores 56.7 points at $2.99 per task (Sep 25, 2026). That is almost the same score as Grok Build, three times cheaper.
What to choose for the task
Pair measurements from the AA Coding Agent Index, Sep 25, 2026 Β· task price at API prices, the same run
8. History
The product is four months old. A short history, but a dense one: from a beta for subscribers to version 1.0, open code and free entry.
May 25
Grok Build announced: a terminal agent for code, early beta for SuperGrok and X Premium Plus subscribers.
Jul 28
Build Mode: building apps directly in Grok chat - early beta for SuperGrok Heavy only.
Aug 7
The terminal agent ships in version 1.0.
Aug 12
grok-4.6 ships with a 500,000-token context, and the agent runs on it until September.
Aug 19
Grok Build opens to all Grok plans: web, iOS, and Android; publishing to grok.me and export to GitHub.
Sep 21
The agent moves to Grok 4.7 on the day the model ships.
9. Frequently asked questions
What is Grok Build in simple terms?+
A coding agent from SpaceXAI (formerly xAI): you describe the task in words, and it writes and fixes the code itself. It lives in two places: in the Grok chat, where it builds whole apps and publishes them at a link, and in the terminal for engineers. It runs on the Grok 4.7 model; in the terminal you can also plug in another model with your own key.
Is Grok Build free?+
Yes. In chat it has been part of every Grok plan since Aug 19, 2026, including the free one, and the vendor also lets you try the terminal version for free (Sep 26, 2026). The vendor does not state the free plan's limits; more allowance comes with SuperGrok at $30 and SuperGrok Plus at $100 a month.
How do I install Grok Build?+
The chat version needs no installation: go to grok.com and switch the mode to Build. The terminal one installs with the single command from section 3 on macOS, Linux and Windows; on first launch the agent will ask you to sign in to a Grok account or provide an API key.
What is Grok Build 0.1?+
This is not a version of the agent but a separate fast SpaceXAI model for code: it has been in public beta in the API since May 29, 2026. It costs $1 per million input tokens and $2 per million output, with a context of 256 thousand. The agent itself reached version 1.0.40 by Sep 20, 2026.
Can I take ownership of the app's code?+
Yes: the whole project is exported to a GitHub repository, then you can work in any editor or the terminal version of the agent. The published app lives on grok.me, and you can attach your own domain to it.
Grok Build or Claude Code β which should you choose?+
In the Artificial Analysis agent index of Sep 25, 2026, Claude Code with Opus 5.5 scores 66 points and Grok Build with Grok 4.7 scores 56.3. In exchange, a task with Grok Build costs $8.82 versus $13.04, and you can try it without a subscription. The whole trade-off is broken down in section 7.
Sources
- x.ai/build - the agent's page: Grok 4.7, "Available to try for Free" (Sep 26, 2026) β official website
- x.ai - the Grok Build changelog: 1.0.0 on Aug 7, 1.0.40 on Sep 20, 2026 β official release
- SpaceXAI β Introducing Grok 4.7 (Sep 21, 2026) β official release
- x.ai - Grok plans (Sep 26, 2026) β official website
- Artificial Analysis - the index of coding agents (Sep 25, 2026) β press
- The Register - Grok Build uploaded whole repositories to the cloud (Jul 14, 2026) β press
- SpaceXAI β Grok Build is Now Open Source (Jul 15, 2026) β official release
- SpaceXAI β Grok Build 0.1 on API (May 29, 2026) β official release
- SpaceXAI β Grok Build for everyone (Aug 19, 2026) β official release
- SpaceXAI β Introducing Build Mode (Jul 28, 2026) β official release
- SpaceXAI β Introducing Grok Build (May 25, 2026) β official release
- docs.x.ai - Build overview: installation and your own models (Sep 26, 2026) β official website
- GitHub β xai-org/grok-build β official website
- ai-toolbox - Grok pricing plans, the SuperGrok Heavy price (2026) β press
Useful reading before you start
- What is vibecoding: starting from scratch.
- Claude Code: the main competitor from section 7.
- The full AI agent ranking.

